An offer from the Federal Institute for Vocational Education and Training Further info

Bilateral agreements on recognition

Germany has entered into bilateral agreements with the following countries for the mutual recognition of vocational qualifications: Switzerland, Austria and France.

Here you can find answers to the questions:

  • What do the agreements regulate?
  • To which professions do the agreements apply?
  • How does recognition work?

 

Common goals of the agreements 

Germany has entered into bilateral agreements with Switzerland, Austria and France regarding the mutual recognition of vocational education and training qualifications. The common goals of the agreements are to simplify the recognition of vocational qualifications, to make it easier for skilled workers with the relevant qualifications to practice their professions and complete continuing vocational education and training in the respective partner country, and to increase cross-border mobility with neighbouring states.

 

German-Swiss Agreement 

The agreement of 10 February 2021 between the government of the Federal Republic of Germany and the Swiss Federal Council for determining the equivalence of vocational qualifications entered into force on 1 September 2021. It was incorporated into domestic German law by the Act of 7 August 2021. When compared to national regulations which apply in other respects, the agreement simplifies the mutual recognition of vocational qualifications. It supersedes the previous agreement on the mutual recognition of craft trade examinations and broadens the scope of application.

On the German side, the agreement will apply to initial and advanced vocational education and training qualifications regulated at federal level under the Vocational Training Act (BBiG) and the Crafts and Trades Regulation Code (HwO), while on the Swiss side the agreement will apply to vocational education and training qualifications and to qualifications achieved in federal examinations in tertiary level professional education (federal diplomas of higher education and the advanced federal diplomas of higher education) under the Federal Vocational and Professional Education and Training Act.

The recognition procedure under this agreement replaces the individual check to determine equivalence under the Professional Qualifications Assessment Act and the Crafts and Trades Regulation Code. In Germany applications for the procedure are submitted to the Chambers, who also implement the procedure, and who are responsible for recognition under the Professional Qualifications Assessment Act and the Crafts and Trades Regulation Code. On the Swiss side the normal recognition offices are responsible.

Article 6 (2) of the agreement includes joint informal working tools. These take the form of lists of occupations and do not represent a formal part of the agreement. The competent authorities use the lists as the basis for decision-making when determining equivalence. They are recommendations only and as such simplify the procedure. The goal, in general, is for the competent authorities to make their decisions according to the lists without any further individual checking of equivalence.

The lists are common working tools and will therefore be periodically harmonised and updated by the competent authorities in Switzerland and Germany. The intention is that they should evolve and reflect recognition practice as it develops. The goal is to create a flexible system which can be used to respond quickly to future changes in vocational education and training courses.

Individuals who apply for recognition of their vocational qualification have no legal entitlement to equivalence being determined based on the recommendations contained in the lists. In particular, applicants are not able to invoke the principle of good faith when referring to information from lists which is no longer up to date. 

Key to recognition under the simplified procedure are the requirements set out in Article 3 of the agreement. Under these, the vocational qualifications must enable the individual to perform comparable professional activities. In place of an individual comparison, a comparison is made using the occupational profile. The vocational qualifications concerned must also be assigned to the same level in the system according to the agreement. The agreement includes three levels: 

  • Vocational qualification with 2 years of training
  • Vocational qualification with 3 or 3.5 years of training
  • Advanced vocational training qualification

If the professions are not regarded as equivalent under the simplified procedure, then the agreement allows for a check to be made in accordance with the national procedures which would normally apply.  

The memorandum to the agreement contains further explanations of its application. The memorandum forms part of the justification of the draft bill used to incorporate the agreement within domestic German law.

German-Austrian and German-French agreements 

Bilateral agreements are in place with Austria and France which treat Austrian and French vocational qualifications as equal to the equivalent German qualifications. 

In addition to formally making specific vocational qualifications equivalent in this way, there are “joint declarations” with both countries which establish the basic mutual compatibility of vocational training qualifications.

On the German side, the vocational qualifications made equivalent in accordance with the agreement are listed in the regulations and are also contained in the “Directory of recognised training occupations” of the Federal Institute for Vocational Education and Training (BIBB). The competent authority is able to certify the equivalence upon request. This can help for example with applications. Recognition can be applied for in the normal procedure for all Austrian and French vocational qualifications which are not made equivalent. Key information about responsibility for, and providing details on, the recognition procedure is provided in the Profi-Filter (in the professional section) and the Recognition Finder (in the skilled workers section).

Ein Angebot des Bundesinstituts für Berufsbildung Mehr Infos

Bilaterale Abkommen zur Anerkennung

Mit folgenden Ländern hat Deutschland bilaterale Abkommen zur gegenseitigen Anerkennung von Berufsqualifikationen geschlossen: Schweiz, Österreich und Frankreich.

Hier finden Sie Antworten auf folgende Fragen:

  • Was regeln die Abkommen?
  • Für welche Berufe gelten die Abkommen?
  • Wie funktioniert die Anerkennung?

 

Gemeinsame Ziele der Abkommen 

Mit der Schweiz, Österreich und Frankreich hat Deutschland bilaterale Vereinbarungen über die gegenseitige Anerkennung von Abschlüssen der beruflichen Bildung getroffen. Gemeinsame Ziele der Abkommen sind: die Anerkennung von Berufsqualifikationen zu vereinfachen, Fachkräften mit entsprechender Qualifikation die Berufsausübung und Weiterbildung im jeweils anderen Land zu erleichtern sowie die grenzüberschreitende Mobilität mit den Nachbarstaaten zu erhöhen.

 

Deutsch-Schweizer Abkommen 

Das Abkommen zwischen der Regierung der Bundesrepublik Deutschland und dem Schweizerischen Bundesrat über die gegenseitige Feststellung der Gleichwertigkeit von beruflichen Abschlüssen vom 10. Februar 2021 ist zum 1. September 2021 in Kraft getreten. Es wurde durch Gesetz vom 7. August 2021 in innerstaatliches deutsches Recht umgesetzt. Das Abkommen vereinfacht die gegenseitige Anerkennung von Berufsabschlüssen im Vergleich zu den sonst geltenden nationalen Regelungen. Es ersetzt die bisherige Vereinbarung über die gegenseitige Anerkennung handwerklicher Prüfungen und erweitert den Anwendungsbereich.

Auf deutscher Seite gilt das Abkommen für bundesrechtlich geregelte Aus- und Fortbildungsabschlüsse nach dem Berufsbildungsgesetz (BBiG) und der Handwerksordnung (HwO), auf Schweizer Seite für Abschlüsse der beruflichen Grundbildung und Abschlüsse der eidgenössischen Prüfungen der höheren Berufsausbildung (Eidgenössische Fachausweise, Eidgenössische Diplome) nach dem Berufsbildungsgesetz.

Das Verfahren zur Anerkennung nach diesem Abkommen ersetzt die individuelle Prüfung zur Feststellung der Gleichwertigkeit nach dem Berufsqualifikationsfeststellungsgesetz (BQFG) bzw. der Handwerksordnung (HwO). Das Verfahren wird in Deutschland bei den Kammern beantragt und durchgeführt, die auch für die Anerkennung nach BQFG und HwO zuständig sind. Auch auf Schweizer Seite sind die regulären Anerkennungsstellen zuständig.

Das Abkommen sieht in Art. 6 Abs. 2 gemeinsame informelle Arbeitsinstrumente vor. Diese haben die Form von Berufelisten und sind kein formeller Teil des Abkommens. Die Listen dienen den zuständigen Stellen als Entscheidungsgrundlage bei der Feststellung der Gleichwertigkeit. Sie haben empfehlenden Charakter und erleichtern so das Verfahren. Die zuständigen Stellen sollen im Regelfall ohne weitere individuelle Prüfung der Gleichwertigkeit entsprechend den Listen entscheiden.

Die Listen als gemeinsame Arbeitsinstrumente werden von den zuständigen Behörden in der Schweiz und Deutschland periodisch abgeglichen und aktualisiert. Sie haben evolutiven Charakter und spiegeln die sich entwickelnde Anerkennungspraxis wider. Ziel ist ein flexibles System, mit dem schnell auf künftige Änderungen in den Berufsausbildungen reagiert werden kann.

Einzelpersonen, die einen Antrag auf Anerkennung ihres beruflichen Abschlusses stellen, haben keinen Rechtsanspruch auf Feststellung der Gleichwertigkeit aufgrund der empfehlenden Angaben in den Listen. Insbesondere können Antragstellende sich nicht auf das Vertrauensprinzip berufen, wenn sie sich auf Angaben von Listen beziehen, die nicht mehr aktuell sind. 

Entscheidend für die Anerkennung nach diesem vereinfachten Verfahren sind die in Art. 3 des Abkommens festgelegten Voraussetzungen. Danach müssen die beruflichen Abschlüsse zu vergleichbaren beruflichen Tätigkeiten befähigen. Statt eines individuellen Vergleichs erfolgt ein Vergleich anhand des Berufsbildes. Außerdem müssen die betreffenden Berufsabschlüsse gemäß dem Abkommen systemisch der gleichen Stufe zugeordnet sein. Das Abkommen sieht folgende drei Stufen vor: 

  • Berufsabschluss mit 2 Jahren Ausbildung
  • Berufsabschluss mit 3 oder 3,5 Jahren Ausbildung
  • Abschluss der beruflichen Fortbildung

Soweit die Berufe nicht nach dem vereinfachten Verfahren als gleichwertig angesehen werden, sieht das Abkommen eine Prüfung nach den regulär geltenden nationalen Verfahren vor. 

Weitere Erläuterungen zur Anwendung enthält die Denkschrift zum Abkommen. Die Denkschrift ist Teil der Begründung zum Gesetzentwurf, mit dem das Abkommen in innerstaatliches deutsches Recht umgesetzt wurde.

Deutsch-Österreichisches und Deutsch-Französisches Abkommen 

Mit Österreich und Frankreich bestehen bilaterale Abkommen, die bestimmte österreichische und französische Berufsabschlüsse mit den entsprechenden deutschen Abschlüssen gleichstellen

Neben dieser formalen Gleichstellung bestimmter Berufsabschlüsse gibt es mit beiden Ländern sogenannte „Gemeinsame Erklärungen“, die die grundsätzliche gegenseitige Vergleichbarkeit von beruflichen Ausbildungsabschlüssen feststellen. 

Auf deutscher Seite sind die gemäß Abkommen gleichgestellten Berufsqualifikationen in Verordnungen aufgeführt und auch im „Verzeichnis der anerkannten Ausbildungsberufe“ des Bundesinstituts für Berufsbildung (BIBB) enthalten. Auf Antrag kann die zuständige Stelle die Gleichstellung bescheinigen. Dies kann z.B. für Bewerbungen hilfreich sein. Für alle österreichischen und französischen Berufsqualifikationen, die nicht gleichgestellt sind, kann die Anerkennung im regulären Verfahren beantragt werden. Wichtige Informationen zur Zuständigkeit und Details zum Anerkennungsverfahren bieten der Profi-Filter (im Profi-Bereich) und der Anerkennungs-Finder (im Fachkräfte-Bereich).