Hotline Working and Living in Germany

The hotline "Working and Living in Germany" answers your questions in German and English on the following issues:

  • Recognition of foreign professional qualifications
  • Job search, work and careers
  • Entry and residence in Germany
  • Learning German

You can reach the hotline Monday to Friday from 9.00 to 15.00 CET on:
+49 30 1815-1111.1

Local charges apply for calls made on a German landline. Charges may vary for calls from mobile telephones. Calls from abroad are subject to all applicable charges in the country you are calling from.
The central information hotline is part of the Federal Government's demographic strategy and is operated jointly by the Federal Office for Migration and Refugees (BAMF) and the Federal Employment Agency (BA) under a cooperative arrangement between the Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Energy (BMWi), the Federal Ministry of the Interior (BMI), the Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF), and the BA. It supplements existing services at,,, and
Use this BAMF contact form to submit a written enquiry about recognition when the hotline is not in operation.

Please note: It is not possible to establish equivalency of qualifications via telephone. This can only be done once you have submitted an application with the competent authority responsible for the recognition of your foreign professional qualifications.


AID Make it in Germany

Hotline privacy notice

Hotline

Logo Hotline

Die „Hotline Arbeiten und Leben in Deutschland“ beantwortet Ihre Fragen zu folgenden Themen auf Deutsch und Englisch:

  • Anerkennung ausländischer Berufsabschlüsse
  • Jobsuche, Arbeit und Beruf
  • Einreise und Aufenthalt
  • Deutsch lernen

Erreichbar ist die Hotline Montag bis Freitag von 9 Uhr bis 15 Uhr MEZ unter der Nummer: +49 30 1815-1111.

Für Anruferinnen und Anrufer aus dem deutschen Festnetz fallen die ortsüblichen Telefongebühren an. Gebühren aus den Mobilfunknetzen können abweichen. Für Anruferinnen und Anrufer aus dem Ausland gilt der jeweilige Auslandspreis Ihres Tarifs.

Die zentrale Informations-Hotline wird als Maßnahme der Demografiestrategie der Bundesregierung gemeinsam vom Bundesamt für Migration und Flüchtlinge (BAMF) und der Bundesagentur für Arbeit (BA) im Rahmen einer ressortübergreifenden Kooperation zwischen dem Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Energie (BMWi), dem Bundesministerium des Innern (BMI), dem Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF) und der BA betrieben. Sie begleitet die bestehenden Angebote von www.make-it-in-germany.com, www.anerkennung-in-deutschland.de, www.bamf.de, www.arbeitsagentur.de und www.zav.de.

Über dieses Kontaktformular des BAMF können Sie außerhalb der Hotline-Öffnungszeiten Ihre Anfrage zum Thema Anerkennung auch schriftlich stellen.

Bitte beachten Sie: Eine Prüfung der Gleichwertigkeit des Abschlusses kann nicht telefonisch erfolgen. Dies geschieht erst, wenn Sie einen Antrag bei der Stelle gestellt haben, die für die Anerkennung Ihres ausländischen Berufsabschlusses zuständig ist.

 BAMF  BA  
 BMWi  BMBF BMI 
 AID  Make it in Germany  

Datenschutzhinweis zur Hotline