An offer from the Federal Institute for Vocational Education and Training Further info

FAQ

Frequently asked questions

FAQs - frequently asked questions

Here you can find the answers to frequently asked questions about the recognition of foreign professional qualifications in Germany and on other subjects.

You must submit your application for recognition to the competent authority in Germany. You can find the competent authority in the Recognition Finder.

Recognition Finder

The recognition procedure checks whether your qualification can be recognised. For this, the competent authority compares your professional qualification against the German reference occupation.

The requirements for a recognition procedure are:

You receive a recognition notice following the check. The notice informs you of the result of the recognition procedure. There are various results: The professional qualification is recognised, there are substantial differences compared to the reference occupation or the professional qualification is not recognised. In most cases substantial differences can be compensated for by participating in training.

Are you not able to provide a final certificate? If so, for non-regulated professions you may be able to complete a skills analysis. This also applies to a master craftsperson qualification in the trades or crafts that require a licence. There are also options for regulated professions. For example you can complete an adaptation period or take a test.

You will find your reference occupation in the Recognition Finder. There you will also find information about counselling offers and about the competent authority for your application for recognition.

Recognition Finder

Counselling

How do I get recognition?

That depends on whether your profession is regulated. And it depends on your country of origin.

Regulated professions

In order to be allowed to work in Germany, recognition is essential for regulated professions. Regulated professions are legally protected occupations, for example in the security and healthcare sectors.

Exception: You come from the EU/EEA/Switzerland and you only occasionally practice your occupation in Germany. In this case you must register with the competent authority. Recognition however is not necessary.

Non-regulated professions

Non-regulated professions are not legally protected. Do you want to work in a non-regulated profession? In this case you do not require recognition. Do you want to immigrate to Germany from a third country? In this case recognition is generally required for a residence permit.

What is vocational recognition?

Immigration and residence

In Germany and in some other countries, counselling on the recognition of professional qualifications is available free of charge. You can find the right counselling offer for you on our online portal via the Recognition Finder.

An overview of all provision is available on the “counselling” page on this portal: Counselling search

Do you come from the EU/EEA/Switzerland? If so, you need recognition for a regulated profession. This applies for example to medical practitioners and pharmacists. A higher education qualification enables you to apply directly to the job market for non-regulated professions. This applies, for example, to mathematicians and sociologists.

Do you want to immigrate to Germany from a third country? If so, you need recognition for a regulated profession. For a higher education qualification in a non-regulated profession you need a statement of comparability from the Central Office for Foreign Education (ZAB). The recognition or the statement of comparability is a requirement for your entry into Germany. The recognition or the statement of comparability is also a requirement for a work permit.

Please note: Subject to specific conditions, IT workers may immigrate to Germany for work without recognition and without a formal qualification. 

What is vocational recognition?

Immigration

University/university of applied sciences

The recognition procedure can cost up to €600. Sometimes it may even cost more. The competent authority will inform you of the exact costs of your recognition procedure. You can find the competent authority in the Recognition Finder. In addition, there are often costs for translations, certifications, compensation measures and refresher training. You may also need to obtain necessary documents in person from your country of origin In this case there are also travel costs. Under certain conditions you may also receive financial support with the costs.

Recognition Finder

Financial support

There are various results. There are two possible results for regulated professions and three possible results for non-regulated professions.

Regulated professions

There are two possible results for regulated professions: Recognition or no recognition. In this case you receive recognition: Your professional qualification is equivalent to the relevant German reference occupation and you meet the further criteria. Further criteria include, for example, your personal aptitude or knowledge of German. In this case you do not receive recognition. Your professional qualification is not equivalent or you do not meet the further criteria.

Non-regulated professions

There are three possible results for non-regulated professions: Recognition or partial recognition or no recognition. In this case you receive recognition: Your professional qualification is equivalent to the relevant German professional qualification. In this case you receive partial recognition: Your professional qualification is only partially equivalent to the German professional qualification. With partial recognition you are permitted to work in a non-regulated profession in Germany. In this case you do not receive recognition: The difference between your professional qualification and the German professional qualification is too large.

You are able to compensate for substantial differences in regulated and non-regulated professions with training measures. For example, with a compensation measure or with refresher training.

You receive the result of the recognition procedure in a notice.

How do I get recognition?

Ethnic German resettlers were already entitled to a recognition procedure before 2012. These persons therefore have a choice of two processes for the recognition procedure:

These are the key differences between the two procedures: For the recognition procedure under the BQFG, your professional qualification is always compared with a current German reference occupation. The recognition procedure under the BQFG also takes into account your professional experience. This may enable you to compensate for substantial differences identified in the recognition procedure. The Federal Office for Migration and Refugees (BAMF) has a flyer providing information about the differences between the procedures.

Further information and advice can also be obtained from your competent authority. You can find the competent authority in the Recognition Finder.

Recognition Finder

BAMF flyer: “Professional recognition for ethnic German settlers”

Federal Office for Migration and Refugees (BAMF) information page for ethnic German resettlers

In most cases you are able to work in a non-regulated profession without recognition.

There are also the following alternatives to recognition:

Without recognition you are not permitted to work in Germany in a regulated profession. However, you are able to work in non-regulated professions. You do not need recognition for non-regulated professions. This might be, for example, working in research for companies or in other occupational fields.

Options for immigrants from third countries:

Do you want to immigrate to Germany from a third country? If so, in most cases you need recognition of your professional qualification. Without recognition you have the following options:

Please note: Subject to specific conditions, IT workers may immigrate to Germany for work without recognition and without a formal qualification.  

The counselling centres, your competent authority and the hotline “Working and Living in Germany” are able to provide you with individual advice on the various options.

Advice

Recognition Finder

University/university of applied sciences

Start a business in Germany

Study in Germany

Hotline

No. The recognition procedure and the granting of a visa are two separate procedures.

Are you from a third country and want to work in Germany? If so, in most cases you need to apply for a visa. You need recognition for a visa. Have you received a notice showing partial recognition? And are you able to compensate for the substantial differences in Germany? If so, then you require a visa for entry into Germany. When you apply for a visa you must submit the notice.

You can apply for a visa to a German mission abroad in your country of origin.

Following entry into Germany, you must have the visa re-registered into a residence permit at the relevant immigration office. You are then permitted to live and work in Germany for an extended period.

Further information about the granting of visas is available from our online portal on the “Immigration” page.

Immigration

The competent authority checks whether: Your professional qualification is equivalent to the German professional qualification. This check is referred to as an equivalence assessment. The check is made on the basis of your certificates and documents. The competent authority compares, for example, the duration of your foreign training with the duration of training in the German reference occupation. When checking, your professional experience is taken into account. The competent authority informs you of the result in a notice.

How do I get recognition?

Yes. You can also apply for recognition from abroad. Do you want to immigrate to and work in Germany from a third country? If so, then you usually need recognition in advance.

Please note: Subject to specific conditions, IT specialists may immigrate to Germany for work without recognition and without a formal qualification.

What is vocational recognition?

Immigration

Have you applied for recognition? If so, you will receive notification from your competent authority after one month at the latest. This notification states that the competent authority has received your documents. You may then be required to submit further documents The competent authority will inform you if any documents are missing.

Have you submitted all the necessary documents to the competent authority? If so, the processing will then take up to three months. By then, at the latest, you receive recognition notice containing the result. In certain cases the competent authority is able to extend the recognition procedure by one month. It may last longer, for example if a skills analysis takes place.

Under certain circumstances, employers are able to apply for the so-called accelerated process for skilled workers from third countries. The recognition procedure may then take only 2 months. Approach your future employer about this!

What is vocational recognition?

Substantial differences are differences between your professional qualification and the German professional qualification, for example in terms of duration and content. In most cases you are able to compensate for substantial differences.

For this you have these options: 

In a regulated profession you can compensate for substantial differences in most cases with a compensation measure. You must successfully complete the compensation measure and then you will receive recognition. You are only permitted to work in Germany in a regulated profession with recognition.

In most cases you do not need to compensate for substantial differences in a non-regulated profession. You are permitted to work in the profession without recognition. However you can compensate for substantial differences with refresher training. You then submit a follow-up application.

Do you come from a third country? If so, you almost always require recognition of your professional qualification. This applies to regulated professions and to non-regulated professions. With the recognition you are able to obtain a visa for employment in Germany. You are also able to enter Germany for a compensation measure or for refresher training. For questions relating to entry and residence, please make use of the advice from the hotline “Working and Living in Germany”.

Please note: Subject to specific conditions, IT workers may immigrate to Germany for work without recognition and without a formal qualification.

How do I get recognition?

Hotline

Immigration

Yes. Various institutions are able to provide financial support for your recognition procedure. Funding is available, for example, for recognition procedure fees, for certification of documents or for travel costs. Some providers also cover the cost of training after the recognition procedure.

Get advice on the options available to you! The recognition counselling centres and your competent authority will be happy to provide you with information.

Financial support

Counselling

Are you unable to submit all of the documents relating to your professional qualification? If so, you may be able to provide evidence of your professional skills in a practical way. You can do this for all dual training occupations, master craftsman occupations and advanced training occupations by means of a skills analysis. There are also options for regulated professions: You can complete an adaptation period or take a test— for example, for occupations in the healthcare and nursing sector.

How do I get recognition?

You do not need knowledge of German to apply for recognition. In the recognition procedure the competent authority compares your professional qualification against the German reference occupation. However, in some professions you need knowledge of German for authorisation to practice. Medical practitioners are required, for example, to pass a specialist language examination for approbation (licence to practise medicine in Germany). For many other professions language skills are not tested. Information about the language skills required in your profession are available in the Recognition Finder Information about the different German courses is available on our Learning German webpage.

Recognition Finder

Learning German

You must always submit the following documents to apply for recognition:

  • Application
  • Proof of identity
  • Evidence of the content and duration of your vocational qualification

You will frequently be required to submit further documents. The competent authority will inform you about the necessary documents, about the form of the documents and about any required translations into German. You can find the competent authority in the Recognition Finder.

Application documents

Recognition Finder

Finding translators

If there is a similar professional qualification in the Federal Republic of Germany, you can have your professional qualification from the GDR checked for equivalence. Who carries out the procedure? The competent authority in the federal state in which your training organisation has its headquarters. You can find the competent authority using the Recognition Finder. To do this, simply enter your profession and the location in which you completed your final examination. In most cases you are able to apply for the equivalence check to your competent authority under Article 37 of the Reunification Treaty. You may be required to pay a fee for the procedure.

Did you obtain the professional qualification of "Facharbeiter" [skilled worker] in the GDR? Or the title of "Meister/Meisterin" [master craftsperson]? If so, then please contact the regional Chamber of Crafts and Trades (HWK) or the Chamber of Industry and Commerce (IHK). The Competence Centre of the Chambers of Commerce (IHK FOSA) is not responsible for this.

Recognition Finder

Legal text relating to recognition of qualifications from the former GDR.

Up until 31 December 2020, the United Kingdom will be treated as a member state of the European Union (EU). Up until then, EU regulations will continue to apply to recognition.

The recognition of professional qualifications from the United Kingdom will also be possible after 31 December 2020. However, at this point, EU regulations relating to recognition will no longer apply to British citizens. The United Kingdom is then a third country.

Federal Government information page on Brexit

Bild Copyright © deagreez / Adobe Stock

Ein Angebot des Bundesinstituts für Berufsbildung Mehr Infos

FAQ

Häufige Fragen

Häufig gestellte Fragen

Hier finden Sie Antworten auf häufige Fragen zur Anerkennung von ausländischen Berufsqualifikationen in Deutschland und zu weiteren Themen.

Sie müssen Ihren Antrag auf Anerkennung bei der zuständigen Stelle in Deutschland einreichen. Die zuständige Stelle finden Sie im Anerkennungs-Finder

Anerkennungs-Finder

Ob Ihr Abschluss anerkannt werden kann, wird im Anerkennungsverfahren geprüft. Dabei vergleicht die zuständige Stelle Ihre Berufsqualifikation mit dem deutschen Referenzberuf.

Voraussetzungen für ein Anerkennungsverfahren sind:

Nach der Prüfung erhalten Sie einen Bescheid. Der Bescheid informiert Sie über das Ergebnis des Anerkennungsverfahrens. Es gibt verschiedene Ergebnisse: Die Berufsqualifikation wird anerkannt, es bestehen wesentliche Unterschiede zum Referenzberuf oder die Berufsqualifikation wird nicht anerkannt. Wesentliche Unterschiede können Sie meistens durch die Teilnahme an einer Qualifizierung ausgleichen.

Sie können Ihr Abschlusszeugnis nicht vorlegen? Dann können Sie für nicht reglementierte Berufe vielleicht eine Qualifikationsanalyse machen. Das gilt auch für eine Meisterqualifikation im zulassungspflichtigen Handwerk. Für reglementierte Berufe gibt es auch Möglichkeiten. Sie können z. B. einen Anpassungslehrgang oder eine Prüfung machen.

Ihren Referenzberuf finden Sie im Anerkennungs-Finder. Dort finden Sie auch Informationen über Beratungsangebote und über die zuständige Stelle für Ihren Antrag auf Anerkennung.

Anerkennungs-Finder

Beratung

Wie bekomme ich die Anerkennung?

Das hängt von der Reglementierung Ihres Berufs ab. Und es hängt von Ihrem Herkunftsland ab.

Reglementierte Berufe

Für reglementierte Berufe ist die Anerkennung zwingend notwendig, damit Sie in Deutschland arbeiten dürfen. Reglementierte Berufe sind rechtlich geschützte Berufe, z. B. aus den Bereichen Sicherheit und Gesundheit.

Ausnahme: Sie kommen aus EU/EWR/Schweiz und Sie üben nur gelegentlich Ihren Beruf in Deutschland aus. Dann müssen Sie sich bei der zuständigen Stelle melden. Eine Anerkennung ist aber nicht erforderlich.

Nicht reglementierte Berufe

Nicht reglementierte Berufe sind rechtlich nicht geschützt. Sie wollen in einem nicht reglementierten Beruf arbeiten? Dann brauchen Sie keine Anerkennung. Sie wollen aus einem Drittstaat nach Deutschland einwandern? Dann ist die Anerkennung meistens die Voraussetzung für einen Aufenthaltstitel.

Was ist berufliche Anerkennung?

Einwanderung und Aufenthalt

In Deutschland und einigen anderen Ländern gibt es kostenlose Beratungsangebote zur Anerkennung von Berufsqualifikationen. Das für Sie passende Beratungsangebot finden Sie auf unserem Online-Portal über den Anerkennungs-Finder. Eine Übersicht über alle Angebote finden Sie auch auf der Seite „Beratung“ auf diesem Portal.

Sie kommen aus EU/EWR/Schweiz? Dann brauchen Sie in einem reglementierten Beruf die Anerkennung. Das gilt z. B. für Ärztinnen und Apotheker. Mit einem Hochschulabschluss für nicht reglementierte Berufe können Sie sich direkt auf dem Arbeitsmarkt bewerben. Das gilt z. B. für Mathematikerinnen oder Soziologen.

Sie wollen aus einem Drittstaat nach Deutschland einwandern? Dann brauchen Sie in einem reglementierten Beruf die Anerkennung. Für einen Hochschulabschluss für einen nicht reglementierte Beruf benötigen Sie eine Zeugnisbewertung der Zentralstelle für ausländisches Bildungswesen (ZAB). Die Anerkennung oder Zeugnisbewertung ist eine Voraussetzung für Ihre Einreise nach Deutschland. Die Anerkennung oder Zeugnisbewertung ist auch eine Voraussetzung für eine Arbeitserlaubnis.

Hinweis: IT-Kräfte können unter bestimmten Voraussetzungen auch ohne Anerkennung und ohne formalen Abschluss zum Arbeiten nach Deutschland einwandern. 

Was ist berufliche Anerkennung?

Einwanderung

Hochschule

Das Anerkennungsverfahren kann bis zu 600 Euro kosten. Manchmal kostet es auch mehr. Die zuständige Stelle informiert sie über die genauen Kosten für Ihr Anerkennungsverfahren. Die zuständige Stelle finden Sie im Anerkennungs-Finder. Häufig kommen Kosten für Übersetzungen, Beglaubigungen, Ausgleichsmaßnahmen oder Anpassungsqualifizierungen hinzu. Vielleicht müssen Sie notwendige Dokumente persönlich aus Ihrem Herkunftsland abholen. Dann haben Sie auch Reisekosten. Unter bestimmten Voraussetzungen können Sie für die Kosten eine finanzielle Förderung erhalten.

Anerkennungs-Finder

Finanzielle Förderung

Es gibt unterschiedliche Ergebnisse. Es gibt 2 mögliche Ergebnisse für reglementierte Berufe und 3 mögliche Ergebnisse für nicht reglementierten Berufe.

Reglementierte Berufe

Für reglementierte Berufe gibt es 2 mögliche Ergebnisse: Anerkennung oder keine Anerkennung. Dann erhalten Sie eine Anerkennung: Ihre Berufsqualifikation ist mit dem entsprechenden deutschen Referenzberuf gleichwertig und Sie erfüllen weitere Kriterien. Weitere Kriterien sind z. B. Ihre persönliche Eignung oder Deutschkenntnisse. Dann erhalten Sie keine Anerkennung: Ihre Berufsqualifikation ist nicht gleichwertig oder Sie erfüllen nicht die weiteren Kriterien. 

Nicht reglementierte Berufe

Für nicht reglementierte Berufe gibt es 3 mögliche Ergebnisse: Anerkennung oder teilweise Anerkennung oder keine Anerkennung. Dann erhalten Sie die Anerkennung: Ihre Berufsqualifikation ist mit der entsprechenden deutschen Berufsqualifikation gleichwertig. Dann erhalten Sie die teilweise Anerkennung: Ihrer Berufsqualifikation ist mit der deutschen Berufsqualifikation nur teilweise gleichwertig. Sie dürfen mit einer teilweisen Anerkennung in einem nicht reglementierten Beruf in Deutschland arbeiten. Dann erhalten Sie keine Anerkennung: Der Unterschied Ihrer Berufsqualifikation ist im Vergleich mit der deutschen Berufsqualifikation zu groß.

Sie können wesentliche Unterschiede in reglementierten und nicht reglementierten Berufen durch Qualifizierungsmaßnahmen ausgleichen. Zum Beispiel durch eine Ausgleichsmaßnahme oder eine Anpassungsqualifizierung.

Sie erhalten das Ergebnis des Anerkennungsverfahrens in einem Bescheid.

Wie bekomme ich die Anerkennung

Spätaussiedlerinnen und Spätaussiedler hatten vor 2012 schon Anspruch auf ein Anerkennungsverfahren. Deshalb können diese Personen beim Anerkennungsverfahren zwischen 2 Verfahren wählen:

  1. Verfahren nach Bundesvertriebenengesetz (BVFG) oder
  2. Verfahren nach Berufsqualifikationsfeststellungsgesetz (BQFG)

Das sind die wichtigsten Unterschiede zwischen den beiden Verfahren: Beim Anerkennungsverfahren nach BQFG wird Ihre Berufsqualifikation immer mit einem aktuellen deutschen Referenzberuf verglichen. Das Anerkennungsverfahren nach BQFG berücksichtigt auch Ihre Berufserfahrung. Damit können Sie vielleicht im Anerkennungsverfahren festgestellte wesentliche Unterschiede ausgleichen. Das Bundesamt für Migration und Flüchtlinge (BAMF) informiert über die Unterschiede zwischen den Verfahren in einem Flyer.

Weitere Informationen und Beratung erhalten Sie auch bei Ihrer zuständige Stellen. Die zuständige Stelle finden Sie im Anerkennungs-Finder.

Anerkennungs-Finder

Flyer „Berufliche Anerkennung für Spätaussiedler“ des BAMF

Informationsseite des BAMF für Spätaussiedlerinnen und Spätaussiedler

In einem nicht reglementierten Beruf können Sie meistens ohne Anerkennung arbeiten. 

Es gibt auch folgende Alternativen zur Anerkennung:

In einem reglementierten Beruf dürfen Sie in Deutschland nicht ohne Anerkennung arbeiten. Sie können aber in nicht reglementierten Berufen arbeiten. Für nicht reglementierte Berufe brauchen Sie keine Anerkennung. Das können z. B. Tätigkeiten in der Forschung, bei Unternehmen oder in anderen Berufsbereichen sein.

Möglichkeiten für Einwandernde aus Drittstaaten:

Sie wollen aus einem Drittstaat nach Deutschland einwandern? Dann brauchen Sie meistens die Anerkennung Ihrer Berufsqualifikation. Ohne Anerkennung haben Sie folgende Möglichkeiten:

Hinweis: IT-Kräfte können unter bestimmten Voraussetzungen auch ohne Anerkennung und ohne formalen Abschluss zum Arbeiten nach Deutschland einwandern. 

Die Beratungsstellen, Ihre zuständige Stelle oder die Hotline „Arbeiten und Leben in Deutschland“ beraten Sie persönlich zu den verschiedenen Möglichkeiten.

Beratung

Anerkennungs-Finder

Hochschule

Wir gründen in Deutschland

Study in Germany

Hotline

Nein. Das Anerkennungsverfahren und die Erteilung eines Visums sind 2 getrennte Verfahren

Sie kommen aus einem Drittstaat und wollen in Deutschland arbeiten? Dann müssen Sie meistens ein Visum beantragen. Für ein Visum benötigen Sie die Anerkennung. Sie haben einen Bescheid mit einer teilweisen Anerkennung erhalten? Und Sie können die wesentlichen Unterschiede in Deutschland ausgleichen? Dann benötigen Sie für die Einreise auch ein Visum. Wenn Sie ein Visum beantragen, dann müssen Sie den Bescheid vorlegen.

Sie können ein Visum bei einer deutschen Auslandsvertretung in Ihrem Herkunftsland beantragen. 

Nach Ihrer Einreise müssen Sie das Visum bei der zuständigen Ausländerbehörde in eine Aufenthaltserlaubnis umschreiben lassen. Damit dürfen Sie dann für längere Zeit in Deutschland leben und arbeiten.

Mehr zur Erteilung von Visa finden Sie auf unserem Online-Portal auf der Seite „Einwanderung“.

Einwanderung

Die zuständige Stelle prüft: Ist Ihre Berufsqualifikation mit einer deutschen Berufsqualifikation gleichwertig? Diese Prüfung heißt Gleichwertigkeitsprüfung. Die Prüfung erfolgt auf der Grundlage Ihrer Zeugnisse und Dokumente. Die zuständige Stelle vergleicht z. B. die Dauer Ihrer ausländischen Ausbildung mit der Dauer einer Ausbildung im deutschen Referenzberuf. Ihre Berufserfahrung wird bei der Prüfung auch berücksichtigt. Die zuständige Stelle informiert Sie über das Ergebnis in einem Bescheid.

Wie bekomme ich die Anerkennung?

Ja. Sie können Ihren Antrag auf Anerkennung auch aus dem Ausland stellen. Sie wollen aus einem Drittstaat einwandern und in Deutschland arbeiten? Dann benötigen Sie in der Regel vorher die Anerkennung.

Hinweis: IT-Fachkräfte können unter bestimmten Voraussetzungen auch ohne Anerkennung und ohne formalen Abschluss zum Arbeiten nach Deutschland einwandern. 

Was ist berufliche Anerkennung?

Einwanderung

Sie haben einen Antrag auf Anerkennung gestellt? Dann erhalten Sie spätestens nach einem Monat Nachricht von Ihrer zuständigen Stelle. In dieser Nachricht steht: Die zuständige Stelle hat Ihre Dokumente erhalten. Vielleicht müssen Sie dann noch Dokumente nachreichen. Die zuständige Stelle informiert Sie über fehlende Dokumente.

Sie haben alle notwendigen Dokumente bei der zuständigen Stelle eingereicht? Dann dauert die Bearbeitung bis zu 3 Monate. Spätestens dann erhalten Sie den Anerkennungsbescheid mit dem Ergebnis. In bestimmten Fällen kann die zuständige Stelle das Anerkennungsverfahren um einen Monat verlängern. Es kann auch länger dauern, wenn z. B. eine Qualifikationsanalyse erfolgt.

Arbeitgeber können unter bestimmten Voraussetzungen das sogenannte beschleunigte Fachkräfteverfahren für Fachkräfte aus Drittstaaten beantragen. Dann dauert das Anerkennungsverfahren vielleicht nur 2 Monate. Sprechen Sie Ihren künftigen Arbeitgeber darauf an!

Was ist berufliche Anerkennung?

Wesentliche Unterschiede sind Unterschiede zwischen Ihrer Berufsqualifikation und der deutschen Berufsqualifikation, z. B. bei Dauer und Inhalt. Sie können die wesentlichen Unterschiede meistens ausgleichen. 

Dazu haben Sie diese Möglichkeiten: 

In einem reglementierten Beruf können Sie wesentliche Unterschiede meistens mit einer Ausgleichsmaßnahme ausgleichen. Sie müssen die Ausgleichsmaßnahme erfolgreich abschließen, dann erhalten Sie die Anerkennung. Sie dürfen in Deutschland in einem reglementierten Beruf nur mit einer Anerkennung arbeiten.

In einem nicht reglementierten Beruf brauchen Sie wesentliche Unterschiede meistens nicht ausgleichen. Sie dürfen ohne Anerkennung in dem Beruf arbeiten. Sie können aber die wesentlichen Unterschiede mit einer Anpassungsqualifizierung ausgleichen. Danach stellen Sie einen Folgeantrag.  

Sie kommen aus einem Drittstaat? Dann benötigen Sie fast immer die Anerkennung Ihrer Berufsqualifikation. Das gilt für reglementierte Berufe und für nicht reglementierte Berufe. Mit der Anerkennung können Sie ein Visum zur Erwerbstätigkeit für Deutschland erhalten. Sie können auch für eine Ausgleichsmaßnahme oder eine Anpassungsqualifizierung nach Deutschland einreisen. Für Fragen zu Einreise und Aufenthalt nutzen Sie bitte die Beratung der Hotline „Arbeiten und Leben in Deutschland“.

Hinweis: IT-Kräfte können unter bestimmten Voraussetzungen auch ohne Anerkennung und ohne formalen Abschluss zum Arbeiten nach Deutschland einwandern.

Wie bekomme ich die Anerkennung?

Hotline

Einwanderung

Ja. Verschiedene Institutionen können Ihr Anerkennungsverfahren finanziell unterstützen. Eine Förderung können Sie z. B. für Gebühren für das Anerkennungsverfahren, Beglaubigungen von Dokumenten oder Fahrtkosten erhalten. Manche Anbieter übernehmen auch die Kosten für Qualifizierungen nach dem Anerkennungsverfahren.

Lassen Sie sich zu Ihren Möglichkeiten beraten! Die Beratungsstellen für Anerkennung und Ihre zuständige Stelle informieren Sie gerne.

Finanzielle Förderung

Beratung

Sie können nicht alle Dokumente zu Ihrer Berufsqualifikation vorlegen? Dann können Sie Ihre beruflichen Fähigkeiten vielleicht praktisch nachweisen. Das können Sie für alle dualen Ausbildungsberufe, Meisterberufe und Fortbildungsberufe mit einer Qualifikationsanalyse. Für reglementierte Berufe gibt es auch Möglichkeiten: Sie können einen Anpassungslehrgang oder eine Prüfung machen. Zum Beispiel bei Berufen aus dem Bereich Gesundheit und Pflege.

Wie bekomme ich die Anerkennung?

Für den Antrag auf Anerkennung benötigen Sie keine deutschen Sprachkenntnisse. Im Anerkennungsverfahren vergleicht die zuständige Stelle Ihre Berufsqualifikation mit dem deutschen Referenzberuf. Sie benötigen aber in einigen Berufen für eine Berufszulassung Deutschkenntnisse. Ärztinnen und Ärzte müssen für die Approbation z. B. eine Fachsprachenprüfung bestehen. Bei vielen anderen Berufen werden die Sprachkenntnisse nicht geprüft. Informationen über vorgeschriebene Sprachkenntnisse in Ihrem Beruf finden Sie im Anerkennungs-Finder. Auf unserer Internetseite „Deutsch lernen“ finden Sie Informationen zu verschiedenen Deutschkursen.

Anerkennungs-Finder

Deutsch lernen

Für einen Antrag auf Anerkennung müssen Sie immer folgende Dokumente einreichen:

  • Antrag
  • Identitätsnachweis
  • Nachweise über Inhalte und Dauer Ihrer beruflichen Qualifizierung 

Häufig müssen Sie weitere Dokumente einreichen. Die zuständige Stelle informiert Sie über die notwendigen Dokumente, über die Form der Dokumente und notwendige Übersetzungen in die deutsche Sprache. Die zuständige Stelle finden Sie im Anerkennungs-Finder.

Dokumente für den Antrag

Anerkennungs-Finder

Übersetzer finden

Wenn es eine ähnliche Berufsqualifikation in der Bundesrepublik Deutschland gibt, können Sie Ihre Berufsqualifikation aus der DDR auf Gleichwertigkeit prüfen lassen.  Wer führt das Verfahren durch? Die zuständige Stelle in dem Bundesland, in dem Ihre Bildungseinrichtung den Hauptsitz hatte. Die zuständige Stelle finden Sie mit dem Anerkennungs-Finder. Dafür geben Sie einfach Ihren Beruf an und den Ort, an dem Sie Ihre Abschlussprüfung gemacht haben. Bei Ihrer zuständigen Stelle können Sie meistens einen Antrag auf Prüfung der Gleichwertigkeit nach Art. 37 Einigungsvertrag stellen. Sie müssen für das Verfahren vielleicht Gebühren bezahlen. 

Sie haben in der DDR die Berufsqualifikation Facharbeiterin oder Facharbeiter erworben? Oder den Titel Meisterin oder Meister? Dann wenden Sie sich bitte an die regionale Handwerkskammer (HWK) oder Industrie- und Handelskammer (IHK). Die IHK FOSA ist dafür nicht zuständig!

Anerkennungs-Finder

Gesetzestext zur Anerkennung von Abschlüssen aus der ehemaligen DDR

Bis 31. Dezember 2020 wird das Vereinigte Königreich wie ein Mitgliedstaat der Europäischen Union (EU) behandelt. Bis dahin gelten für die Anerkennung weiter die Regelungen der EU.

Die Anerkennung von Berufsqualifikationen aus dem Vereinigten Königreich wird auch nach dem 31. Dezember 2020 möglich sein. Dann gelten die Regelungen der EU für die Anerkennung aber nicht mehr für britische Staatsangehörige. Das Vereinigte Königreich ist dann ein Drittstaat.

Informationsseite der Bundesregierung zum Brexit

Bild Copyright © deagreez / Adobe Stock