An offer from the Federal Institute for Vocational Education and Training Further info

Business guide for the crafts and trades sector

Dilek Intepe helps craft trade businesses with professional recognition. In the interview, she discusses her current role as a business guide which is part of a project called “Unternehmen Berufsanerkennung HWK”, financed by the Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF).

You have been working as a business guide at UBA since 2019. What does your work actually involve? 

Dilek Intepe: As a business guide I am the direct point of contact for craft trade businesses in Berlin for all matters concerning the recognition of foreign professional qualifications. This ranges from initial guidance through to support during refresher training following partial recognition. This might involve employees in the business or applicants, including applicants from abroad. 

How long have the UBA business guides been in existence? What is special about the concept?

Dilek Intepe: We began our work in 2019.. The service we provide is targeted exclusively at craft trade businesses. What's special about this is that we actively approach and support them. The business guides contribute to these businesses being able to get through the process of recognition and training efficiently and without a huge financial pressure.

In what ways do you help businesses specifically with the recognition of their employees? What are the key requirements for providing support to the businesses successfully?

Dilek Intepe: It is important for craft trade businesses to have a point of contact for professional recognition. Small businesses in particular largely lack the time and staffing resources to take on the additional tasks of employee training and staff recruitment. My work as a UBA business guide begins at the application stage. I check in advance whether an applicant can be considered for professional recognition. However, I also check the existing workforce to see whether there are employees who have a relevant foreign professional qualification. 

If somebody receives partial recognition, I get together with the business to consider which skills and knowledge the potential skilled worker is lacking and how they can be trained to specifically address this. This is then individual and tailored refresher training.

Another important task of the UBA business guide is to clarify the costs of recognition procedures and refresher training. I check out the ways in which the costs can be covered and apply for these together with the business and person interested in recognition. We usually make use of the recognition grant available to those interested in recognition.

What prior knowledge do UBA business guides need so they can deliver tailored support to craft trade businesses on an ongoing basis?

Dilek Intepe: On the one hand they need to be familiar with the relevant statutory bases in Germany, in other words the Recognition Act, the Skilled Immigration Act, the Residence Act and the Employment Regulation. But what's most important is that they actively seek out the businesses. This means that, as a UBA business guide, I approach craft trade businesses, I asked them about what they currently need, and about what challenges they are facing with professional recognition. As part of this, I coordinate with the competent authority in our Chamber whose official task it is to implement the recognition procedure. At the same time, I have to be well connected with all the institutions entrusted with the recognition of foreign professional qualifications. This concerns in particular the immigration authorities (in Berlin this is the Berlin Immigration Office) and employment agencies who make decisions on matters relating to residence and work permits. The guilds of the Berlin craft and trade sector are also part of this because the specialist refresher training is provided in their training centres.

How is the offer received by the craft trade businesses?

Dilek Intepe: The feedback we have received from the Berlin craft trade businesses is entirely positive. Most businesses are pleased to have somebody from the Chamber of Crafts and Trades (HWK) offering them individual support. I recently helped an employee in an electrical craft trade business who had received partial recognition for his training from Ukraine. He was able to make up for the missing knowledge and is now submitting a follow-up application for full recognition. Before this, we applied for the costs to be covered. The business is very interested in the employee taking further qualifications to become a trained skilled worker. This is because he can then be deployed across the full range of work activities on future customer jobs. This is the value which professional recognition adds for the craft trade business.

In how many regions is there currently a UBA business guide and which regions are these? Is the plan to expand the offer further? 

Dilek Intepe: There are currently UBA business guides at the Berlin Chamber of Crafts and Trades, at the Munich and Upper Bavaria Chamber of Crafts and Trades, and at the Chamber of Crafts and Trades for the Stuttgart region. Other chambers of crafts and trades have already been made aware of our activities. They see our support work, which extends beyond the official recognition procedure, as adding value for craft trade businesses.

The interview with Dilek Intepe took place in the first half of 2022. She has been a UBA business guide at the Berlin Chamber of Crafts and Trades since 2019. The UBA business guides in the “Professional recognition for business: HWK” project help craft trade businesses to use the tool of professional recognition in order to attract and retain skilled workers.

Information about responsibility for, and details on, the recognition procedure for the German reference occupations is provided in the Profi-Filter here in the professional section and in the Recognition Finder in the Skilled workers section of “Anerkennung in Deutschland”.

Ein Angebot des Bundesinstituts für Berufsbildung Mehr Infos

Betriebslotsin für das Handwerk

Dilek Intepe unterstützt Handwerksbetriebe bei der Berufsanerkennung. Im Interview berichtet sie über ihre aktuelle Rolle als Betriebslotsin im Rahmen des vom Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung finanzierten Projekts „Unternehmen Berufsanerkennung: HWK“.

Sie sind seit 2019 als Betriebslotsin bei UBA tätig. Was sind Ihre konkreten Aufgaben? 

Dilek Intepe: Ich bin als Betriebslotsin die direkte Ansprechpartnerin für Berliner Handwerksbetriebe rund um das Thema Anerkennung der ausländischen Berufsqualifikation. Das reicht von der Erstberatung bis hin zur Begleitung während einer Anpassungsqualifizierung nach einer teilweisen Anerkennung. Dabei kann es sich um Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter des Betriebs handeln oder um Bewerberinnen und Bewerber, auch aus dem Ausland. 

Seit wann gibt es die UBA-Betriebslotsinnen und -lotsen? Was ist das Besondere an dem Konzept?

Dilek Intepe: Wir haben 2019 unsere Arbeit aufgenommen. Unser Angebot richtet sich ausschließlich an Handwerksbetriebe. Das Besondere ist, dass wir aktiv auf diese zugehen und sie unterstützen. Die Betriebslotsinnen und -lotsen tragen dazu bei, dass die Betriebe effizient sowie ohne große finanzielle Belastung durch den Prozess der Anerkennung und Qualifizierung kommen können.

Wie unterstützen Sie die Betriebe konkret bei der Berufsanerkennung von Mitarbeitenden? Was sind wichtige Voraussetzungen, damit eine Betriebsbegleitung erfolgreich abläuft?

Dilek Intepe: Es ist wichtig für die Handwerksbetriebe, dass sie für die Berufsanerkennung eine Ansprechpartnerin oder einen Ansprechpartner haben. Insbesondere die kleineren Betriebe verfügen kaum über die zeitlichen und personellen Ressourcen, um zusätzliche Aufgaben der Mitarbeiterqualifizierung bzw. Personalrekrutierung zu übernehmen. Meine Tätigkeit als UBA-Betriebslotsin beginnt schon bei den Bewerbungen. Hier prüfe ich bereits im Vorfeld, ob einer der Bewerbenden für eine Berufsanerkennung infrage kommt. Aber auch bei der bestehenden Belegschaft schaue ich, ob es Mitarbeitende mit einem entsprechenden ausländischen Berufsabschluss gibt. 

Bekommt jemand eine teilweise Anerkennung, überlegen der Betrieb und ich gemeinsam, welche Fertigkeiten und Kenntnisse der potenziellen Fachkraft fehlen und wie man sie gezielt qualifizieren kann. Das ist dann eine individuelle und maßgeschneiderte Anpassungsqualifizierung.

Eine weitere wichtige Aufgabe als UBA-Betriebslotsin besteht darin, dass ich über die Kosten für Anerkennungsverfahren und Anpassungsqualifizierung aufkläre. Ich überprüfe mögliche Wege der Kostenübernahme und beantrage diese, gemeinsam mit dem Betrieb und der anerkennungsinteressierten Person. In der Regel nutzen wir den Anerkennungszuschuss, den Anerkennungsinteressierte erhalten können. 

Welche Voraussetzungen müssen die UBA-Betriebslotsinnen und -lotsen mitbringen, um Handwerksbetriebe gezielt und nachhaltig zu unterstützen?

Dilek Intepe: Zum einen müssen sie sich mit den einschlägigen Gesetzesgrundlagen in Deutschland auskennen, also dem Anerkennungsgesetz, dem Fachkräfteeinwanderungsgesetz, dem Aufenthaltsgesetz sowie der Beschäftigungsverordnung. Aber das Wichtigste ist, dass man die Betriebe aktiv aufsucht. Das bedeutet: Als UBA-Betriebslotsin gehe ich auf die Handwerksbetriebe zu und frage sie, was sie aktuell benötigen und wo Herausforderungen bei der Berufsanerkennung bestehen. Dabei stimme ich mich mit der zuständigen Stelle unserer Kammer ab, die das Anerkennungsverfahren als hoheitliche Aufgabe durchführt. Gleichzeitig muss ich mit allen Institutionen, die mit der Anerkennung ausländischer Berufsqualifikationen betraut sind, gut vernetzt sein. Das betrifft insbesondere die Ausländerbehörden (in Berlin heißt sie Landesamt für Einwanderung) und Arbeitsagenturen, die über Fragen der Aufenthalts- und Arbeitserlaubnisse entscheiden. Auch Innungen des Berliner Handwerks gehören dazu, denn in deren Ausbildungszentren wird die berufsfachliche Anpassungsqualifizierung angeboten.

Wie wird das Angebot von den Handwerksbetrieben angenommen?

Dilek Intepe: Die Rückmeldungen, die wir von den Berliner Handwerksbetrieben erhalten, sind durchweg positiv. Die meisten Betriebe sind froh, dass ihnen jemand von der Handwerkskammer individuelle Unterstützung anbietet. Kürzlich habe ich einem Elektro-Handwerksbetrieb bei einem Mitarbeiter geholfen, der für seine Ausbildung aus der Ukraine eine teilweise Anerkennung erhalten hatte. Er konnte die fehlenden Kenntnisse nachholen und stellt jetzt einen Folgeantrag auf volle Anerkennung. Zuvor haben wir einen Antrag auf Kostenübernahme gestellt. Der Betrieb ist sehr daran interessiert, dass sich sein Mitarbeiter zu einer ausgebildeten Fachkraft weiterqualifiziert. Denn dann kann er bei zukünftigen Kundenaufträgen für die gesamte Tätigkeitspalette eingesetzt werden. Das ist der Mehrwert einer Berufsanerkennung für den Handwerksbetrieb. 

In wie vielen und welchen Regionen gibt es aktuell UBA-Betriebslotsen? Soll das Angebot weiter ausgebaut werden? 

Dilek Intepe: UBA-Betriebslotsinnen und -lotsen gibt es aktuell an der Handwerkskammer Berlin, an der Handwerkskammer für München und Oberbayern und an der Handwerkskammer Region Stuttgart. Auf unsere Aktivitäten sind bereits auch andere Handwerkskammern aufmerksam geworden. Sie nehmen unsere Unterstützungsarbeit, die über das hoheitliche Anerkennungsverfahren hinausgeht, als einen Mehrwert für die Handwerksbetriebe wahr.

Das Interview mit Dilek Intepe fand im ersten Halbjahr 2022 statt. Seit 2019 ist sie UBA-Betriebslotsin an der Handwerkskammer Berlin. Die UBA-Betriebslotsinnen und Betriebslotsen des Projekts „Unternehmen Berufsanerkennung: HWK“ unterstützen Handwerksbetriebe dabei, das Instrument der Berufsanerkennung zur Gewinnung und Sicherung von Fachkräften zu nutzen.

Wichtige Informationen zur Zuständigkeit und Details zum Anerkennungsverfahren für die deutschen Referenzberufe bieten der Profi-Filter im Profi-Bereich und der Anerkennungs-Finder im Fachkräfte-Bereich von „Anerkennung in Deutschland“.