An offer from the Federal Institute for Vocational Education and Training Further info

FAQ

FAQs - frequently asked questions

Here you can find the answers to frequently asked questions about the recognition of foreign professional qualifications in Germany and on other subjects.

That depends on whether your profession is regulated. And it depends on your country of origin.

Regulated professions

In order to be allowed to work in Germany, recognition is essential for regulated professions. Regulated professions are legally protected occupations, for example in the security and healthcare sectors.

Exception: You come from the EU/EEA/Switzerland and you only occasionally practice your occupation in Germany. In this case you must register with the competent authority. Recognition however is not necessary.

Non-regulated professions

Non-regulated professions are not legally protected. Do you want to work in a non-regulated profession? In this case you do not require recognition. Do you want to immigrate to Germany from a third country? In this case recognition is generally required for a residence permit.

What is vocational recognition?

Immigration and residence

If there is a similar professional qualification in the Federal Republic of Germany, you can have your professional qualification from the GDR checked for equivalence. Who carries out the procedure? The competent authority in the federal state in which your training organisation has its headquarters. You can find the competent authority using the Recognition Finder. To do this, simply enter your profession and the location in which you completed your final examination. In most cases you are able to apply for the equivalence check to your competent authority under Article 37 of the Reunification Treaty. You may be required to pay a fee for the procedure.

Did you obtain the professional qualification of "Facharbeiter" [skilled worker] in the GDR? Or the title of "Meister/Meisterin" [master craftsperson]? If so, then please contact the regional Chamber of Crafts and Trades (HWK) or the Chamber of Industry and Commerce (IHK). The Competence Centre of the Chambers of Commerce (IHK FOSA) is not responsible for this.

Recognition Finder

Legal text relating to recognition of qualifications from the former GDR.

Yes. You can also apply for recognition from abroad. Do you want to immigrate to and work in Germany from a third country? If so, then you usually need recognition in advance.

Please note: Subject to specific conditions, IT specialists may immigrate to Germany for work without recognition and without a formal qualification.

What is vocational recognition?

Immigration

Are you unable to submit all of the documents relating to your professional qualification? If so, you may be able to provide evidence of your professional skills in a practical way. You can do this for all dual training occupations, master craftsman occupations and advanced training occupations by means of a skills analysis. There are also options for regulated professions: You can complete an adaptation period or take a test— for example, for occupations in the healthcare and nursing sector.

How do I get recognition?

In most cases you are able to work in a non-regulated profession without recognition.

There are also the following alternatives to recognition:

Without recognition you are not permitted to work in Germany in a regulated profession. However, you are able to work in non-regulated professions. You do not need recognition for non-regulated professions. This might be, for example, working in research for companies or in other occupational fields.

Options for immigrants from third countries:

Do you want to immigrate to Germany from a third country? If so, in most cases you need recognition of your professional qualification. Without recognition you have the following options:

Please note: Subject to specific conditions, IT workers may immigrate to Germany for work without recognition and without a formal qualification.  

The counselling centres, your competent authority and the hotline “Working and Living in Germany” are able to provide you with individual advice on the various options.

Advice

Recognition Finder

University/university of applied sciences

Start a business in Germany

Study in Germany

Hotline

Yes. Various institutions are able to provide financial support for your recognition procedure. Funding is available, for example, for recognition procedure fees, for certification of documents or for travel costs. Some providers also cover the cost of training after the recognition procedure.

Get advice on the options available to you! The recognition counselling centres and your competent authority will be happy to provide you with information.

Financial support

Counselling

Do you come from the EU/EEA/Switzerland? If so, you need recognition for a regulated profession. This applies for example to medical practitioners and pharmacists. A higher education qualification enables you to apply directly to the job market for non-regulated professions. This applies, for example, to mathematicians and sociologists.

Do you want to immigrate to Germany from a third country? If so, you need recognition for a regulated profession. For a higher education qualification in a non-regulated profession you need a statement of comparability from the Central Office for Foreign Education (ZAB). The recognition or the statement of comparability is a requirement for your entry into Germany. The recognition or the statement of comparability is also a requirement for a work permit.

Please note: Subject to specific conditions, IT workers may immigrate to Germany for work without recognition and without a formal qualification. 

What is vocational recognition?

Immigration

University/university of applied sciences

You do not need knowledge of German to apply for recognition. In the recognition procedure the competent authority compares your professional qualification against the German reference occupation. However, in some professions you need knowledge of German for authorisation to practice. Medical practitioners are required, for example, to pass a specialist language examination for approbation (licence to practise medicine in Germany). For many other professions language skills are not tested. Information about the language skills required in your profession are available in the Recognition Finder Information about the different German courses is available on our Learning German webpage.

Recognition Finder

Learning German

No. The recognition procedure and the granting of a visa are two separate procedures.

Are you from a third country and want to work in Germany? If so, in most cases you need to apply for a visa. You need recognition for a visa. Have you received a notice showing partial recognition? And are you able to compensate for the substantial differences in Germany? If so, then you require a visa for entry into Germany. When you apply for a visa you must submit the notice.

You can apply for a visa to a German mission abroad in your country of origin.

Following entry into Germany, you must have the visa re-registered into a residence permit at the relevant immigration office. You are then permitted to live and work in Germany for an extended period.

Further information about the granting of visas is available from our online portal on the “Immigration” page.

Immigration

In Germany and in some other countries. counselling on the recognition of professional qualifications is available free of charge. You can find the right counselling offer for you on our online portal via the Recognition Finder. An overview of all provision is available on the “counselling” page on this portal.

Ein Angebot des Bundesinstituts für Berufsbildung Mehr Infos

FAQ

Häufige Fragen

Häufig gestellte Fragen

Hier finden Sie Antworten auf häufige Fragen zur Anerkennung von ausländischen Berufsqualifikationen in Deutschland und zu weiteren Themen.

Das hängt von der Reglementierung Ihres Berufs ab. Und es hängt von Ihrem Herkunftsland ab.

Reglementierte Berufe

Für reglementierte Berufe ist die Anerkennung zwingend notwendig, damit Sie in Deutschland arbeiten dürfen. Reglementierte Berufe sind rechtlich geschützte Berufe, z. B. aus den Bereichen Sicherheit und Gesundheit.

Ausnahme: Sie kommen aus EU/EWR/Schweiz und Sie üben nur gelegentlich Ihren Beruf in Deutschland aus. Dann müssen Sie sich bei der zuständigen Stelle melden. Eine Anerkennung ist aber nicht erforderlich.

Nicht reglementierte Berufe

Nicht reglementierte Berufe sind rechtlich nicht geschützt. Sie wollen in einem nicht reglementierten Beruf arbeiten? Dann brauchen Sie keine Anerkennung. Sie wollen aus einem Drittstaat nach Deutschland einwandern? Dann ist die Anerkennung meistens die Voraussetzung für einen Aufenthaltstitel.

Was ist berufliche Anerkennung?

Einwanderung und Aufenthalt

Wenn es eine ähnliche Berufsqualifikation in der Bundesrepublik Deutschland gibt, können Sie Ihre Berufsqualifikation aus der DDR auf Gleichwertigkeit prüfen lassen.  Wer führt das Verfahren durch? Die zuständige Stelle in dem Bundesland, in dem Ihre Bildungseinrichtung den Hauptsitz hatte. Die zuständige Stelle finden Sie mit dem Anerkennungs-Finder. Dafür geben Sie einfach Ihren Beruf an und den Ort, an dem Sie Ihre Abschlussprüfung gemacht haben. Bei Ihrer zuständigen Stelle können Sie meistens einen Antrag auf Prüfung der Gleichwertigkeit nach Art. 37 Einigungsvertrag stellen. Sie müssen für das Verfahren vielleicht Gebühren bezahlen. 

Sie haben in der DDR die Berufsqualifikation Facharbeiterin oder Facharbeiter erworben? Oder den Titel Meisterin oder Meister? Dann wenden Sie sich bitte an die regionale Handwerkskammer (HWK) oder Industrie- und Handelskammer (IHK). Die IHK FOSA ist dafür nicht zuständig!

Gesetzestext zur Anerkennung von Abschlüssen aus der ehemaligen DDR

Ja. Sie können Ihren Antrag auf Anerkennung auch aus dem Ausland stellen. Sie wollen aus einem Drittstaat einwandern und in Deutschland arbeiten? Dann benötigen Sie in der Regel vorher die Anerkennung.

Hinweis: IT-Fachkräfte können unter bestimmten Voraussetzungen auch ohne Anerkennung und ohne formalen Abschluss zum Arbeiten nach Deutschland einwandern. 

Was ist berufliche Anerkennung?

Einwanderung

Sie können nicht alle Dokumente zu Ihrer Berufsqualifikation vorlegen? Dann können Sie Ihre beruflichen Fähigkeiten vielleicht praktisch nachweisen. Das können Sie für alle dualen Ausbildungsberufe, Meisterberufe und Fortbildungsberufe mit einer Qualifikationsanalyse. Für reglementierte Berufe gibt es auch Möglichkeiten: Sie können einen Anpassungslehrgang oder eine Prüfung machen. Zum Beispiel bei Berufen aus dem Bereich Gesundheit und Pflege.

Wie bekomme ich die Anerkennung?

In einem nicht reglementierten Beruf können Sie meistens ohne Anerkennung arbeiten. 

Es gibt auch folgende Alternativen zur Anerkennung:

In einem reglementierten Beruf dürfen Sie in Deutschland nicht ohne Anerkennung arbeiten. Sie können aber in nicht reglementierten Berufen arbeiten. Für nicht reglementierte Berufe brauchen Sie keine Anerkennung. Das können z. B. Tätigkeiten in der Forschung, bei Unternehmen oder in anderen Berufsbereichen sein.

Möglichkeiten für Einwandernde aus Drittstaaten:

Sie wollen aus einem Drittstaat nach Deutschland einwandern? Dann brauchen Sie meistens die Anerkennung Ihrer Berufsqualifikation. Ohne Anerkennung haben Sie folgende Möglichkeiten:

Hinweis: IT-Kräfte können unter bestimmten Voraussetzungen auch ohne Anerkennung und ohne formalen Abschluss zum Arbeiten nach Deutschland einwandern. 

Die Beratungsstellen, Ihre zuständige Stelle oder die Hotline „Arbeiten und Leben in Deutschland“ beraten Sie persönlich zu den verschiedenen Möglichkeiten.

Beratung

Anerkennungs-Finder

Hochschule

Wir gründen in Deutschland

Study in Germany

Hotline

Ja. Verschiedene Institutionen können Ihr Anerkennungsverfahren finanziell unterstützen. Eine Förderung können Sie z. B. für Gebühren für das Anerkennungsverfahren, Beglaubigungen von Dokumenten oder Fahrtkosten erhalten. Manche Anbieter übernehmen auch die Kosten für Qualifizierungen nach dem Anerkennungsverfahren.

Lassen Sie sich zu Ihren Möglichkeiten beraten! Die Beratungsstellen für Anerkennung und Ihre zuständige Stelle informieren Sie gerne.

Finanzielle Förderung

Beratung

Sie kommen aus EU/EWR/Schweiz? Dann brauchen Sie in einem reglementierten Beruf die Anerkennung. Das gilt z. B. für Ärztinnen und Apotheker. Mit einem Hochschulabschluss für nicht reglementierte Berufe können Sie sich direkt auf dem Arbeitsmarkt bewerben. Das gilt z. B. für Mathematikerinnen oder Soziologen.

Sie wollen aus einem Drittstaat nach Deutschland einwandern? Dann brauchen Sie in einem reglementierten Beruf die Anerkennung. Für einen Hochschulabschluss für einen nicht reglementierte Beruf benötigen Sie eine Zeugnisbewertung der Zentralstelle für ausländisches Bildungswesen (ZAB). Die Anerkennung oder Zeugnisbewertung ist eine Voraussetzung für Ihre Einreise nach Deutschland. Die Anerkennung oder Zeugnisbewertung ist auch eine Voraussetzung für eine Arbeitserlaubnis.

Hinweis: IT-Kräfte können unter bestimmten Voraussetzungen auch ohne Anerkennung und ohne formalen Abschluss zum Arbeiten nach Deutschland einwandern. 

Was ist berufliche Anerkennung?

Einwanderung

Hochschule

Für den Antrag auf Anerkennung benötigen Sie keine deutschen Sprachkenntnisse. Im Anerkennungsverfahren vergleicht die zuständige Stelle Ihre Berufsqualifikation mit dem deutschen Referenzberuf. Sie benötigen aber in einigen Berufen für eine Berufszulassung Deutschkenntnisse. Ärztinnen und Ärzte müssen für die Approbation z. B. eine Fachsprachenprüfung bestehen. Bei vielen anderen Berufen werden die Sprachkenntnisse nicht geprüft.

Informationen über vorgeschriebene Sprachkenntnisse in Ihrem Beruf finden Sie im Anerkennungs-Finder.

Informationen zu verschiedenen Deutschkursen finden Sie auf unserer Internetseite Deutsch lernen.

Nein. Das Anerkennungsverfahren und die Erteilung eines Visums sind 2 getrennte Verfahren

Sie kommen aus einem Drittstaat und wollen in Deutschland arbeiten? Dann müssen Sie meistens ein Visum beantragen. Für ein Visum benötigen Sie die Anerkennung. Sie haben einen Bescheid mit einer teilweisen Anerkennung erhalten? Und Sie können die wesentlichen Unterschiede in Deutschland ausgleichen? Dann benötigen Sie für die Einreise auch ein Visum. Wenn Sie ein Visum beantragen, dann müssen Sie den Bescheid vorlegen.

Sie können ein Visum bei einer deutschen Auslandsvertretung in Ihrem Herkunftsland beantragen. 

Nach Ihrer Einreise müssen Sie das Visum bei der zuständigen Ausländerbehörde in eine Aufenthaltserlaubnis umschreiben lassen. Damit dürfen Sie dann für längere Zeit in Deutschland leben und arbeiten.

Mehr zur Erteilung von Visa finden Sie auf unserem Online-Portal auf der Seite „Einwanderung“.

Einwanderung

In Deutschland und einigen anderen Ländern gibt es kostenlose Beratungsangebote zur Anerkennung von Berufsqualifikationen. Das für Sie passende Beratungsangebot finden Sie auf unserem Online-Portal über den Anerkennungs-Finder.

Eine Übersicht über alle Beratungsangebote finden Sie auch auf der Seite „Beratung“ auf diesem Portal: Beratungssuche