gemische Flaggen von EU und Vereinigtem Königreich
© ink drop / stock.adobe.com

Recognition after a No-Deal Brexit

The Withdrawal Agreement negotiated between the British government and the EU, including the transition period, will only come into force if it is ratified by the European and British parliaments. The British parliament has voted against the Withdrawal Agreement multiple times.

On 11 April the British government and the EU agreed to postpone the deadline for withdrawal of the United Kingdom – Great Britain and Northern Ireland (in the following: United Kingdom) – from the EU to 31 October 2019. If there is no majority for the Withdrawal Agreement, there will be a “disorderly“ exit. This is referred to as no-deal Brexit in the following.

In this case, EU law in regards to the United Kingdom would, according to the present state of affairs, no longer be applicable after 31 October 2019. The United Kingdom would thus become a third country from Germany’s perspective.

Please note

Please note

The parliamentary process in the United Kingdom is still ongoing. You can read the latest updates on the German Government’s website  at the link below.

What would a No-Deal Brexit mean for the recognition of professional qualifications from the United Kingdom in Germany?

Will the recognition of my professional qualification still be valid?

If your professional qualification obtained in the United Kingdom has already been recognised in Germany, the recognition will remain valid, even after a no-deal Brexit.

I already obtained my professional qualification in the United Kingdom before the exit, but I have not yet submitted an application for recognition. Can I have my qualification recognised in Germany even after a no-deal Brexit?

You can still submit an application for recognition in Germany. British nationals can also still have their professional qualifications recognised in Germany. The recognition depends on the relevant national law in the country concerned. You can request more information about this from the competent authorities, who you can search for using our Recognition Finder.

I submitted an application for recognition until 31 October 2019 but I have not received an answer yet.

If you submitted the application in Germany until 31 October 2019, the decision should be made according to the legal stipulations valid at the time of application as long as this is legally (i.e. pursuant to the relevant specific legislation) possible. The competent authority for recognition can provide you with more information about this.

I will have only completed my professional qualification in the UK after 31 October 2019. Can I still submit an application for recognition in Germany?

Yes, you can submit an application for recognition. However, the EU Directive on the recognition of professional qualifications will no longer be applicable. In its place, the recognition system for professional qualifications from third countries will be applicable.

Please note

Please note

In the event of a no-deal Brexit, the regulations concerning cross-border service provision (freedom to provide services) and the EU freedom of movement will no longer apply to British nationals after the exit date.

Legal basis

In Germany, everyone has the right to a recognition procedure—regardless of nationality and origin of the professional qualification. This is based on the Recognition Act from 2012. This means that, even after a no-deal Brexit, British professional qualifications can still be recognised in Germany.

What will change after a No Deal Brexit, however, is the legal foundation for the recognition of certain professional qualifications. Until Brexit, the EU Recognition Directive 2005/36/EG for regulated professions is applicable to British professional qualifications. A simplified method of automatic recognition for certain professions is provided for in this directive. It cannot be applied to qualifications that are obtained in the UK after Brexit. During the recognition procedure in Germany, an individual equivalence assessment for all British professional qualifications takes place.

gemische Flaggen von EU und Vereinigtem Königreich
© ink drop / stock.adobe.com

Anerkennung nach einem No-Deal-Brexit

Das zwischen der britischen Regierung und der EU ausgehandelte Austrittsabkommen inklusive Übergangsphase wird nur dann in Kraft treten, wenn das Europäische und das britische Parlament das Abkommen ratifizieren.

Am 28. Oktober 2019 haben sich die britische Regierung und die EU darauf geeinigt, die Frist für einen Austritt des Vereinigten Königreichs Großbritannien und Nordirland (im Folgenden: Vereinigtes Königreich) aus der EU auf den 31. Januar 2020 zu verschieben. Sollte das Austrittsabkommen mit der EU bis zu diesem Termin nicht ratifiziert werden, würde der Austritt „ungeregelt“ erfolgen. Dies wird im Folgenden als „No-Deal-Brexit“ bezeichnet.

In diesem Fall wäre das EU-Recht in Bezug auf das Vereinigte Königreich nach derzeitigem Stand nach dem 31. Januar 2020 nicht mehr anwendbar. Das Vereinigte Königreich würde somit aus deutscher Sicht zu einem Drittstaat

Hinweis

Hinweis

Das parlamentarische Verfahren im Vereinigten Königreich dauert derzeit noch an. Den aktuellen Stand können Sie stets auf der Webseite der Bundesregierung nachlesen. Den Link finden Sie unten.

Was würde ein No-Deal-Brexit für die Anerkennung von Berufsqualifikationen aus dem Vereinigten Königreich in Deutschland bedeuten?

Gilt die Anerkennung meiner Berufsqualifikation in Deutschland weiterhin?

Falls Ihre im Vereinigten Königreich erworbene Berufsqualifikation schon in Deutschland anerkannt wurde, gilt die Anerkennung auch nach einem No-Deal-Brexit weiter.

Ich habe meine Berufsqualifikation bereits vor dem Austritt im Vereinigten Königreich erworben, aber noch keinen Antrag auf Anerkennung gestellt. Kann ich meine Qualifikation in Deutschland auch nach einem No-Deal-Brexit anerkennen lassen?

Sie können weiterhin einen Antrag auf Anerkennung in Deutschland stellen. Britische Staatsangehörige können ihre Berufsqualifikationen in Deutschland ebenfalls weiterhin anerkennen lassen. Die Anerkennung richtet sich jeweils nach dem einschlägigen nationalen Recht. Auskünfte dazu erhalten Sie bei den zuständigen Stellen, die Sie über unseren Anerkennungs-Finder recherchieren können.

Ich habe einen Antrag auf Anerkennung bis zum 31. Januar 2020 gestellt, aber noch keine Antwort erhalten.

Wenn Sie den Antrag bis zum 31. Januar 2020 in Deutschland gestellt haben, sollte die Entscheidung nach der zum Zeitpunkt der Antragstellung geltenden Rechtslage ergehen, soweit dies rechtlich (d.h. nach dem einschlägigen Fachrecht) möglich ist. Nähere Auskünfte erteilt die für die Anerkennung zuständige Stelle.

Ich schließe meine Berufsqualifikation im Vereinigten Königreich erst nach dem 31. Januar 2020 ab. Kann ich auch dann noch einen Antrag auf Anerkennung in Deutschland stellen?

Ja, Sie können einen Anerkennungsantrag stellen. Die EU-Richtlinie über die Anerkennung von Berufsqualifikationen ist dann aber nicht mehr anwendbar. Es gelten stattdessen die Anerkennungsregelungen für Berufsqualifikationen aus Drittstaaten.

Hinweis

Hinweis

Bei einem No-Deal-Brexit gelten für britische Staatsangehörige die Regelungen zur grenzüberschreitenden Dienstleistungserbringung (Dienstleistungsfreiheit) und Niederlassungsfreiheit der EU ab dem Austrittsdatum nicht mehr.

Rechtlicher Hintergrund

In Deutschland hat auf Grundlage des Anerkennungsgesetzes von 2012 jeder das Recht auf ein Anerkennungsverfahren – unabhängig von der Staatsangehörigkeit und der Herkunft der Berufsqualifikation. Auch nach einem No-Deal-Brexit können daher britische Berufsqualifikationen in Deutschland anerkannt werden.

Was sich nach einem No-Deal-Brexit ändert, ist die rechtliche Grundlage für die Anerkennung bestimmter Berufsqualifikationen. Bis zum Brexit gilt für britische Berufsqualifikationen die EU-Berufsanerkennungsrichtlinie 2005/36/EG für reglementierte Berufe. Diese sieht etwa bei bestimmten Berufen ein vereinfachtes Verfahren der automatischen Anerkennung vor. Dieses kann für Qualifikationen, die im Vereinigten Königreich nach dem Brexit erworben werden, nicht mehr angewendet werden. Bei einem Anerkennungsverfahren in Deutschland findet dann eine individuelle Gleichwertigkeitsprüfung für alle britischen Berufsqualifikationen statt.