gemische Flaggen von EU und Vereinigtem Königreich
© ink drop / stock.adobe.com

Recognition after Brexit

Professional qualifications from the United Kingdom can still be recognised in Germany, even after Brexit. The EU regulations on recognition will still apply during the transition period up until 31 December 2020.

Here you can find answers to the questions:

How will recognition work during the transition period?

Brexit is the term used to describe the departure of the United Kingdom (Great Britain and Northern Ireland) from the European Union (EU). The departure took place on 31 January 2020. Brexit has legal ramifications on the recognition of professional qualifications from the United Kingdom. The withdrawal agreement that came into effect on 1 February 2020 includes a transition period up until the end of 2020. Until then, EU regulations on recognition will continue to apply to both EU citizens and British citizens with British qualifications.

During the transition period, the future relationship between the EU and the UK will be negotiated. Upon expiry of the transition period, the EU Directive on the Recognition of Professional Qualifications will in principle no longer apply. If no other regulations have been agreed upon by then, the national regulations for professional qualifications from third countries will apply for the recognition of British professional qualifications in Germany.

How will recognition work after Brexit?

In the case of professional qualifications that have already been recognised, the recognition will remain valid after Brexit. Professional qualifications that are obtained in the UK after 31 December 2020 can still be recognised in Germany. The recognition will then likely take place according to the national regulations for professional qualifications from third countries. This depends on whether and what kind of recognition regulations have been negotiated during the transition period.

If the recognition of a British professional qualification is applied for before the end of the transition period and is not yet decided, the decision will take place according to the regulations that were valid at the time of application. The competent authority will be able to provide more detailed information. You can find out who that is in the Recognition Finder.

Coronavirus: Fewer recognition services

Due to the coronavirus pandemic, some services for the recognition of foreign professional qualifications in Germany are currently not available.

You can learn more about recognition from us whenever you like. Take some time to read our information, available in 11 languages! Then you will be well informed for the next steps.

Via the Recognition Finder you can find out everything about the recognition procedure for your occupation, which documents you need and where you should send your application: › To the Recognition Finder

Our FAQ provide answers to the most common questions about recognition:  › To the FAQs

You can find out which services are not available or only available to a limited extent by checking our information page on the current situation: › To the information page

gemische Flaggen von EU und Vereinigtem Königreich
© ink drop / stock.adobe.com

Anerkennung nach dem Brexit

Auch nach dem Brexit können Berufsqualifikationen aus dem Vereinigten Königreich in Deutschland anerkannt werden. Die EU-Regelungen zur Anerkennung finden im Übergangszeitraum bis zum 31.12.2020 weiterhin Anwendung.

Hier finden Sie Antworten auf folgende Fragen:

Was gilt für die Anerkennung im Übergangszeitraum?

Brexit bezeichnet den Austritt des Vereinigten Königreichs Großbritannien und Nordirland (kurz: Vereinigtes Königreich) aus der Europäischen Union (EU). Der Austritt erfolgte zum 31. Januar 2020. Der Brexit hat rechtliche Auswirkungen auf die Anerkennung von Berufsqualifikationen aus dem Vereinigten Königreich. Das Austrittsabkommen, das zum 1. Februar 2020 in Kraft trat, sieht einen Übergangszeitraum bis Ende 2020 vor. Bis dahin finden laut Abkommen die EU-Regelungen zur Anerkennung weiterhin Anwendung auf Bürgerinnen und Bürger der EU sowie britische Staatsangehörige mit britischen Abschlüssen.

Während des Übergangszeitraums werden die künftigen Beziehungen zwischen der EU und dem Vereinigten Königreich verhandelt. Mit Ablauf des Übergangszeitraums findet die EU-Berufsanerkennungsrichtlinie prinzipiell keine Anwendung mehr. Sollten bis dahin keine anderen Regelungen vereinbart worden sein, würden für die Anerkennung britischer Berufsqualifikationen in Deutschland künftig die nationalen Regelungen für Berufsqualifikationen aus Drittstaaten gelten.

Was gilt für die Anerkennung nach dem Brexit?

Für bereits anerkannte Berufsqualifikationen bleibt die Anerkennung auch nach dem Brexit gültig. Berufsqualifikationen, die im Vereinigten Königreich nach dem 31. Dezember 2020 abgeschlossen werden, können auch weiterhin in Deutschland anerkannt werden. Die Anerkennung erfolgt dann voraussichtlich nach den nationalen Regelungen für Berufsqualifikationen aus Drittstaaten. Dies hängt davon ab, ob und welche Regelungen für die Anerkennung während des Übergangszeitraums vereinbart werden.

Wurde die Anerkennung einer britischen Berufsqualifikation vor dem Ende des Übergangszeitraums beantragt und noch nicht entschieden, soll die Entscheidung nach den Regelungen erfolgen, die zum Zeitpunkt der Antragstellung galten. Genaue Auskunft erteilt die zuständige Stelle. Diese lässt sich im Anerkennungs-Finder ermitteln.

Corona: Weniger Services zur Anerkennung

Wegen der Corona-Epidemie laufen auch die Services zur Anerkennung von ausländischen Berufsqualifikationen in Deutschland derzeit nicht überall wie gewohnt.

Bei uns können Sie sich zu jeder Zeit über die Anerkennung informieren. Nehmen Sie sich Zeit und lesen Sie unsere Informationen in 11 Sprachen! So können Sie gut informiert die nächsten Schritte angehen.

Über den Anerkennungs-Finder erfahren Sie alles über das Anerkennungsverfahren in Ihrem Beruf, welche Dokumente Sie benötigen und wo Sie den Antrag stellen müssen: › Zum Anerkennungs-Finder

Unsere FAQ beantworten häufige Fragen rund um die Anerkennung: › Zu den FAQ

Auf unserer Informationsseite zur aktuellen Lage erfahren Sie, welche Services nicht oder nur eingeschränkt erreichbar sind: › Zur Informationsseite