Shengyul Abazova - Recognition as accountant

Shengyul Abazova - Recognition as accountant

The person sits with arms crossed at a table and smiles into the camera.
Shengyul Abazova

It’s like a fairy tale.


My dream of practising my occupation in Germany has been fulfilled.


Shengyul Abazova came to Germany in 2013 in possession of a diploma in Office Management and 15 years of occupational experience. Following two language courses, recognition and upgrading training she now works as an accountant.


Name Shengyul Abazova
Age 39
Reference occupation Office clerk
Country of origin of qualification Bulgaria
Current job Accountant

What recognition means for me …

... ... being able to live a satisfying life.


My advice

Above all, set goals and stay motivated.


When Shengyul Abazova moved from Bulgaria to Germany in 2013 she brought a diploma in Office Management and 15 years of occupational experience. Her husband was already living in Halle. For this reason the family decided to build their new life there. When the 39-year-old went to the Jobcenter Halle (Saale) she was not counting on being able to work in the occupation she was qualified in. “At that time, I didn’t believe I could work in my occupation here. But the advisor at the job centre supported me and said that my fate was in my own hands. She also advised me about the recognition counselling that is available.”

First, Shengyul Abazova embarked on an intensive course of study in the German language and after nine months attained B2 level. The second step involved making use of the recognition counselling of the IQ Service Point Vocational Recognition and Qualification Counselling at the AWO SPI gGmbH in Halle (Saale). Then, in June 2014, she applied for a certificate of equivalence from the IHK FOSA, which after assessing the content of her Bulgarian training suggested comparison with the German occupation of “office clerk”. A few months later the results arrived: “I obtained full recognition. Part of my occupational experience was taken into consideration for the certificate of equivalence, because the practical component during my training was insufficient.”

However, Ms. Abazova’s aim was to qualify as an accountant. Again the Job Centre provided advice. By obtaining recognition as an office clerk she fulfilled an important requirement.  But a course in accounting was necessary in order to the make the specialist field fully accessible to her in German. For the ambitious young woman at that time it was not a question of desire, but rather of finance: “It wasn’t so easy. We have two children and wouldn’t have been able to afford it.” Ms. Abazova had a double dose of luck: The Jobcenter Halle (Saale) supported the continuing vocational training with a training voucher, and the practical placement at the Häßler tax firm, which was an integrated part of the training, led to a permanent job there.

The planned qualification as an accountant was decisive. Ms. Abazova obtained information from the IHK Bildungszentrum Halle-Dessau GmbH [Halle-Dessau Chambers of Industry and Commerce Training Centre] about the possibilities of undertaking advanced training. And this training was then supported as part of the IQ support programme. In practical terms, this means the costs were covered. In this way Ms. Abazova was able to use the in-service qualification to help prepare herself for the IHK’s accountancy examination. After passing the first intermediary examinations in autumn 2016 she was promoted to head of the accounting team at the tax firm. Since then she has successfully completed the training! She is now a certified accountant – and is already making her next plans: “I’m thinking about doing an advanced training in Controlling or perhaps a Master course of study. But not immediately. I was studying for almost five years and now I just want to enjoy my time for a while.”

Photo: © Portal “Recognition in Germany”/BIBB: Robert Funke

The conversation with Shengyul Abazova took place in November 2017. During the recognition process she received advice and support from the Jobcenter Halle (Saale), the IQ Service Point Vocational Recognition and Qualification Counselling at the AWO SPI gGmbH in Halle (Saale), a sub-project of the Sachsen-Anhalt IQ Network, as well as the Halle-Dessau Chambers of Industry and Commerce Training Centre. She was supported financially by a training voucher from the Jobcentre Halle (Saale) as well as obtaining IQ-funding from the Halle-Dessau Chambers of Industry and Commerce Training Centre.

Shengyul Abazova - Anerkennung als Bürokauffrau

Shengyul Abazova - Anerkennung als Bürokauffrau

Person sitzt mit verschränkten Armen auf einem Tisch und lächelt in die Kamera.
Shengyul Abazova

Es ist wie ein Märchen.


Mein Traum, in Deutschland in meinem Beruf zu arbeiten, ist in Erfüllung gegangen.


Mit einem Diplom als Ökonom-Organisatorin und 15 Jahren Berufserfahrung kam Shengyul Abazova 2013 nach Deutschland. Zwei Sprachkurse, eine Anerkennung und eine Aufstiegsfortbildung später arbeitet sie nun als geprüfte Bilanzbuchhalterin.


Name Shengyul Abazova
Alter 39
Referenzberuf Bürokauffrau
Herkunftsland Abschluss Bulgarien
Tätig als Bilanzbuchhalterin

Anerkennung bedeutet für mich …

... ein zufriedenes Leben führen zu können.


Mein Tipp

Das A und O ist, sich Ziele zu setzen und motiviert zu bleiben.


Ein Diplom als Ökonom-Organisatorin und 15 Jahre Berufserfahrung brachte die gebürtige Bulgarin Shengyul Abazova mit, als sie 2013 nach Deutschland kam. Ihr Mann lebte bereits in Halle. Deshalb beschloss die Familie, dort ein neues Leben aufzubauen. Chancen, in ihrem gelernten Beruf zu arbeiten, rechnete sich die heute 39-Jährige nicht aus, als sie zum Jobcenter Halle (Saale) ging. „Ich habe damals nicht geglaubt, hier in meinem Beruf arbeiten zu können. Aber die Beraterin beim Jobcenter hat mich unterstützt und gesagt, dass alles in meiner Hand liegt. Sie gab mir auch den Tipp mit der Anerkennungsberatung.“

Zunächst büffelte Shengyul Abazova neun Monate intensiv Deutsch und erreichte das B2-Niveau. Im zweiten Schritt nahm sie die Anerkennungsberatung der IQ Servicestelle Berufliche Anerkennungs- und Qualifizierungsberatung bei der AWO SPI gGmbH in Halle (Saale) in Anspruch. Daraufhin stellte sie im Juni 2014 den Anerkennungsantrag bei der IHK FOSA, die nach Durchsicht der bulgarischen Ausbildungsinhalte für den Vergleich mit dem (damals noch aktuellen*) deutschen Beruf „Bürokauffrau“ vorschlug. Das Ergebnis kam wenige Monate später: „Ich habe die volle Anerkennung erhalten. Ein Teil meiner Berufserfahrung wurde für die Gleichwertigkeitsfeststellung berücksichtigt, weil der Praxisanteil während meiner Ausbildung zu gering war.“

Aber Frau Abazovas Ziel war, sich als Bilanzbuchhalterin zu qualifizieren. Wieder beriet das Jobcenter. Mit der Anerkennung als Bürokauffrau erfüllte sie zwar eine wichtige Voraussetzung. Aber ein Kurs in Finanzbuchhaltung war notwendig, um das Fachgebiet in der deutschen Sprache zu erschließen. Für die ehrgeizige junge Frau damals keine Frage des Wollens, sondern der Finanzierung: „Das war alles nicht so leicht. Wir haben zwei Kinder und hätten uns das finanziell nicht leisten können.“ Frau Abazova hatte doppelt Glück: Das Jobcenter Halle (Saale) förderte die Weiterbildung mit einem Bildungsgutschein, und das in die Maßnahme integrierte Praktikum führte zur Festanstellung im Steuerbüro Häßler.

Der geplante Bilanzbuchhalter-Abschluss war dabei entscheidend. Frau Abazova informierte sich beim IHK Bildungszentrum Halle-Dessau GmbH über die Möglichkeiten einer Aufstiegsfortbildung. Und diese wurde dann im Rahmen des IQ-Förderprogramms gefördert. Das heißt, die Kosten wurden übernommen. So konnte sich Frau Abazova mit einer berufsbegleitenden Qualifizierung auf die Prüfung zur Bilanzbuchhalterin (IHK) vorbereiten. Nach den bestandenen ersten Zwischenprüfungen im Herbst 2016 stieg sie zur Teamleiterin Buchhaltung im Steuerbüro auf. Inzwischen hat sie es geschafft! Sie ist jetzt geprüfte Bilanzbuchhalterin - und schmiedet schon die nächsten Pläne: „Ich überlege, eine Weiterbildung im Controlling zu machen oder vielleicht ein Master-Studium. Aber nicht direkt. Ich habe knapp fünf Jahre gelernt und genieße die Zeit jetzt erst mal.“

* Neuordnung im August 2014

Foto: © Portal „Anerkennung in Deutschland“/BIBB: Robert Funke

Das Gespräch mit Shengyul Abazova wurde im November 2017 geführt. Beim Anerkennungsverfahren berieten und begleiteten sie das Jobcenter Halle, die IQ Servicestelle Berufliche Anerkennungs- und Qualifizierungsberatung bei der AWO SPI gGmbH, ein Teilprojekt im IQ Netzwerk Sachsen-Anhalt, sowie das IHK Bildungszentrum Halle-Dessau GmbH. Finanziell wurde sie durch einen Bildungsgutschein der Agentur für Arbeit sowie eine IQ-Förderung durch das IHK Bildungszentrum Halle-Dessau GmbH unterstützt.