Azem Ceka - Recognition as Car varnisher

testimonial_ceka_715x280
Azem Ceka

I have achieved everything I wanted


I am independent, have a lot of responsibility and feel integrated.


Azem Ceka is a car varnisher who came to Germany in 1998. He worked as a salaried employee before starting his own business. Recognition has enabled him to acquire a master craftsman qualification.


Name Azem Ceka
Age 36
Reference occupation

Car varnisher

Country of origin of qualification Macedonia
Current job  Car varnisher

 

What recognition means for me …

... getting the same respect from other people that I give to them.


My advice

Always have a goal in mind, never give up and learn a lot!


Azem Ceka left his homeland in the former Yugoslavia as long ago as 1998, immediately upon completion of his training as a car varnisher. “We had a lot of acquaintances in Germany, none of whom had a bad word to say about the country,” he relates. Apart from good career prospects, the main aspects which attracted him were “the reliability and punctuality and the many opportunities to learn new things”. He quickly found a job in a car varnishing shop. “Everything was just as I had imagined,” says Azem, who is now 36 years old. For this reason, he did not look into obtaining recognition for his vocational qualification. This only became significant when he decided to become self-employed. He was not permitted to start his own company if no master craftsman was working there. This forced him to employ a master craftsman. “First of all, this cost me a lot of money,” he relates. “Also, despite having my own business, I was still dependent on others.”

In order to change this situation, he initiated a recognition process. He began by contacting the Hamburg Chamber of Crafts and Trades. “They were able to supply me with all the answers I needed.” Once he had submitted his training certificate and an advanced diploma acquired in Macedonia in 2007, the Chamber of Crafts and Trades requested further documents giving information on the contents of his training for the purpose of conducting an equivalence assessment. Because he was unable to obtain any further information from his former homeland, the Chamber of Crafts and Trades suggested a skills analysis, i.e. a practical opportunity to demonstrate that he was in possession of the competences required for Parts 1 and 2 of the master craftsman examination. Azem Ceka decided to pursue this option. Following preparatory technical discussions with the master craftsman from the Hamburg Guild of Painters and Varnishers responsible for implementing the process, the skills analysis began. His tasks were to work on a car door, recognise different types of plastic and explain how they should be repaired and carry out a “spot repair” to a bumper. Azem adopts a confident tone: “Because I had been working in the car varnishing branch for over ten years, this was no problem for me in terms of the skills required.” Two weeks after the skills analysis, he received his recognition notice.

The subsequent route to full equivalence was, however, somewhat more difficult. He attended an evening course to prepare him for the master craftsman examination. “Because of my language difficulties, I had to spend plenty of time practising German with my wife,” he recalls. However, he was ultimately able to overcome this hurdle and successfully completed both the written and oral examination. Having achieved full equivalence with the master craftsman qualification, he now has the next goal in mind. “I want to expand my company and train apprentices.”

The interview with Azem Ceka was conducted in June 2016. He received advice and support for the recognition of his qualification from the Hamburg Chamber of Crafts and Trades.

Azem Ceka - Anerkennung als Autolackierer

Mann mit verschränkten Armen in einer Autowerkstatt lächelt in die Kamera
Azem Ceka

Ich habe alles erreicht


Ich bin unabhängig, habe viel Verantwortung und fühle mich integriert.


Azem Ceka kam bereits 1998 nach Deutschland. Der Autolackierer war erst angestellt und machte sich dann selbstständig. Die Anerkennung ermöglichte es ihm, den Meistertitel zu erwerben.


Name Azem Ceka
Alter 36
Referenzberuf Autolackierer
Herkunftsland Abschluss Mazedonien
Tätig als Autolackierer

 

Anerkennung bedeutet für mich …

... von anderen den gleichen Respekt zu bekommen, den ich ihnen auch entgegenbringe.


Mein Tipp

Immer ein Ziel vor Augen haben, niemals aufgeben und viel lernen!


Azem Ceka verließ seine Heimat, das ehemalige Jugoslawien, bereits 1998 – gleich nach dem Abschluss seiner Ausbildung. „Wir haben in Deutschland viele Bekannte, die nur Gutes erzählt hatten“, berichtet der gelernte Autolackierer. Neben einer beruflichen Perspektive waren es vor allem „die Zuverlässigkeit und Pünktlichkeit sowie die vielen Möglichkeiten, Neues zu lernen“, die ihn hierherführten. Schnell fand er eine Anstellung in einer Autolackiererei. „Alles war so, wie ich es mir vorgestellt hatte“, so der 36-Jährige. Daher habe er sich auch nicht mit der Anerkennung seines Berufsabschlusses beschäftigt. Die wurde für ihn erst bedeutsam, als er sich selbstständig machte. Ohne einen Meister im Betrieb konnte er sich nicht selbstständig machen. Darum war er gezwungen, einen Meister einzustellen. „Der hat mich nicht nur viel Geld gekostet“, erzählt Azem Ceka. „Ich war auch – trotz meiner Selbstständigkeit – immer abhängig von anderen.“

Um das zu ändern, leitete er den Anerkennungsprozess in die Wege. Als ersten Schritt kontaktierte er die Handwerkskammer (HWK) Hamburg. „Hier habe ich alle Antworten bekommen“, resümiert der Autolackierer. Nachdem er sein Ausbildungs- sowie sein in 2007 erlangtes Fortbildungsdiplom aus Mazedonien eingereicht hatte, benötigte die HWK für die Gleichwertigkeitsprüfung seines Berufsabschlusses noch Dokumente, die über die Inhalte seiner Ausbildung Auskunft gaben. Da er keine weiteren Informationen aus seiner ehemaligen Heimat bekommen konnte, schlug ihm die HWK eine Qualifikationsanalyse vor – eine Möglichkeit, die beruflichen Kompetenzen für die Teile 1 und 2 der Meisterprüfung praktisch nachzuweisen. Azem Ceka entschied sich für diese Option. Nach einem fachlichen Vorbereitungsgespräch mit den durchführenden Meistern bei der Maler- und Lackierer-Innung Hamburg war es dann soweit. Seine Aufgabe: eine Autotür bearbeiten, Kunststoffe erkennen und deren Reparatur erläutern sowie einen „Spot-Repair“ an einer Stoßstange durchführen. „Da ich seit über zehn Jahren in der Autolackierer-Branche tätig bin, war das handwerklich für mich kein Problem“, erzählt der gebürtige Mazedonier gelassen. Zwei Wochen nach der Qualifikationsanalyse hielt er den Anerkennungsbescheid in seinen Händen.

Etwas schwieriger gestaltete sich der anschließende Weg zur vollen Gleichwertigkeit. Hierfür besuchte er abends den Meisterprüfungsvorbereitungskurs. „Auf Grund meiner Sprachprobleme musste ich nebenbei mit meiner Frau besonders viel Deutsch lernen“, berichtet Azem Ceka. Aber auch diese Hürde konnte er schließlich meistern und schloss die Schule erfolgreich mit einer schriftlichen und mündlichen Prüfung ab. Mit der vollen Gleichwertigkeit zum Meister in der Tasche geht er jetzt das nächste Ziel an: „Ich will meinen Betrieb vergrößern und Lehrlinge ausbilden.“

Das Gespräch mit Azem Ceka wurde im Juni 2016 geführt. Bei der Anerkennung seines Abschlusses beriet und begleitete ihn die Handwerkskammer (HWK) Hamburg.