Fernando Llusiá de Castro - Recognition as construction engineer

Fernando Llusiá de Castro - Recognition as construction engineer

Spanish construction engineer in a high-visibility jacket, standing on a building site with a construction vehicle in the background
Fernando Llusiá de Castro

I simply threw myself into the adventure


I am happy quickly to have found a job that is in line with my qualifications.


Fernando Llusiá de Castro came to Germany in October 2014 having failed to secure a job in Spain upon completion of his degree studies in Civil Engineering. Thanks to the recognition of his qualification, he has been working as a construction engineer in Bad Düben since October 2015.


Name Fernando Llusiá de Castro
Age 26
Reference occupation Construction engineer
Country of origin of qualification Spain
Current job Construction engineer

 

What recognition means for me …

… being able to work in Germany as a construction engineer having completed a degree in Civil Engineering.

 


My advice

Be patient with Germany bureaucracy and always ask if something is not clear!


Having completed a degree in Civil Engineering, Fernando Llusiá de Castro was unable to find a job that was suitable for his qualification in Spain. When he heard that Germany was looking for engineers, he was strongly tempted to enter working life there. An old friend from Spain, who lives on his home island of Tenerife, ultimately encouraged him to make the move. And 26-year old Fernando needed no second bidding: "I'm a straightforward kind of person, as adaptable as a chameleon, my father always says".

When he first arrived in Halle an der Saale in October 2014, his primary focus was to learn the language. He attended an intensive German course at an adult education centre, and this turned out to be a good decision not only in terms of progressing his learning. His German teacher provided him with the contact details for the South Saxony Anhalt IQ Service Agency for Professional Recognition and Qualification Guidance. This body is housed at at development association run by the Workers' Welfare Association (AWO SPI Soziale Stadt und Land Entwicklungsgesellschaft mbH) and is one of the many regional counselling centres operated by the national funding programme "Integration through qualification (IQ)".

Project staff member Mathias Kanigowski explained the recognition process to Fernando. He also indicated the further possible training routes that could follow and continued to offer guidance and support during the recognition procedure itself. "Mr. Kanigowski was a great help to me," relates Fernando Llusiá de Castro. "I had initial difficulties both with the language and the bureaucratic process".

The first step was to obtain translations of the necessary documentation relating to his degree studies. He then sent these papers off to the Chamber of Engineers in Saxony Anhalt together with his completed recognition application. Whilst the recognition procedure was still ongoing, Fernando applied for a job at the company Bau und Haustechnik Bad Düben. Although his interview went very well, he still needed an official recognition notice in order to be employed as a construction engineer. However, this was a process which was to take some time. Fernando was also required to pay a fee of 250 Euro for the recognition of his professional title, and this was money which he did not currently have. "This payment was the biggest challenge I faced in the whole of the process," he admits. The Job Centre came to his assistance by paying the costs of the recognition procedure. This further delayed matters because another application needed to be submitted in this regard. Fortunately, the company to which he had applied was prepared to wait. After a total of three months, the procedure was concluded and Fernando Llusiá de Castro's engineering degree was accorded full equivalence in May 2015.

"I presented this to the company Bau und Haustechnik Bad Düben and got the job. Things could not have been any simpler!" Fernando is fired with enthusiasm because his hopes of finding employment as quickly as possible have been fulfilled. He does not believe that this is a matter of course in a foreign country, especially for someone who has not been able to gain any prior professional experience. The fact that he really enjoys his job makes him even more satisfied. "I've got my own office at the company's headquarters. There is a good staff atmosphere, and I hope to be able to expand my professional experience by continuing to work on a wide range of projects.

Fernando Llusiá de Castro's private life is also anything but boring. Membership of a squash club has already brought him many new friends. The only downside is that his family is still in Spain, and he uses his holiday to fly to his old homeland.

The interview with Fernando Llusiá de Castro was conducted in December 2015. He was advised and supported in the recognition of his qualification by the South Saxony Anhalt IQ Service Agency for Professional Recognition and Qualification Guidance.

Fernando Llusiá de Castro - Anerkennung als Bauingenieur

Der spanische Bauingenieur Fernando Llusiá de Castro in Warnweste auf einer Baustelle, im Hintergrund ein Baufahrzeug
Fernando Llusiá de Castro

Ich stürzte mich einfach ins Abenteuer


Ich bin froh, schnell einen Job gefunden zu haben, der meiner Qualifikation entspricht.


Fernando Llusiá de Castro kam im Oktober 2014 nach Deutschland, weil er in Spanien nach seinem Studium der Bauwissenschaften keinen Job fand. Dank der Anerkennung seines Abschlusses ist er seit Oktober 2015 in Bad Düben als Bauingenieur tätig.


Name Fernando Llusiá de Castro
Alter 26
Referenzberuf Bauingenieur
Herkunftsland Abschluss Spanien
Tätig als Bauingenieur

 

Anerkennung bedeutet für mich …

… durch mein abgeschlossenes Studium der Bauwissenschaften auch in Deutschland als Bauingenieur arbeiten zu können.

 


Mein Tipp

Geduld mit der deutschen Bürokratie haben und immer nachfragen, wenn etwas nicht klar ist!

In Spanien fand Fernando Llusiá de Castro nach dem Studium der Bauwissenschaften keinen Job, der seiner Qualifikation entsprach. Als er hörte, dass man in Deutschland Ingenieure sucht, war die Verlockung groß, dort ins Arbeitsleben einzusteigen. Eine alte Freundin aus Deutschland, die in seiner Heimat Teneriffa lebt, ermutigte ihn letztendlich - und schwer ist ihm der Schritt nicht gefallen: „Ich bin ein unkomplizierter Mensch und, wie mein Vater immer sagt, anpassungsfähig wie ein Chamäleon“, erläutert der 26-Jährige.

Als er im Oktober 2014 in Halle an der Saale ankam, konzentrierte er sich erst einmal auf das Erlernen der Sprache und belegte einen Intensivkurs Deutsch an der Volkshochschule: nicht nur für den Lernfortschritt eine gute Entscheidung. Denn sein Deutschlehrer übermittelte ihm die Kontaktdaten der Servicestelle IQ „Berufliche Anerkennungs- und Qualifizierungsberatung“ Sachsen-Anhalt Süd bei der AWO SPI Soziale Stadt und Land Entwicklungsgesellschaft mbH – eine von vielen regionalen Servicestellen des bundesweiten Förderprogramms „Integration durch Qualifizierung (IQ)“.

Der Projektmitarbeiter Mathias Kanigowski klärte den Spanier über den Anerkennungsprozess und über weitere mögliche Qualifizierungswege im Anschluss daran auf. Er stand ihm auch beim Anerkennungsverfahren beratend zur Seite. „Herr Kanigowski war für mich eine große Hilfe, weil es anfänglich sowohl mit der Sprache als auch mit der Bürokratie nicht ganz einfach für mich war“, erklärt Fernando Llusiá de Castro.

Der erste Schritt bestand darin, die nötigen Unterlagen aus seinem Studium zu übersetzen. Danach schickte er sie zusammen mit dem ausgefüllten Anerkennungsantrag zur Ingenieurskammer in Sachsen-Anhalt. Parallel zum Anerkennungsverfahren bewarb sich der Spanier bei der Firma Bau und Haustechnik Bad Düben. Sein Vorstellungsgespräch verlief positiv. Jedoch brauchte er für die Einstellung als Bauingenieur den offiziellen Anerkennungsbescheid. Dieser ließ aber noch auf sich warten. Zudem sollte die Anerkennung des Titels 250 Euro kosten – Geld, das er zu diesem Zeitpunkt nicht hatte. „Meine größte Herausforderung im ganzen Prozess war diese Zahlung“, gesteht der Spanier. Hier kam ihm das Jobcenter zu Hilfe. Es übernahm die Kosten für die Anerkennung. Weil dafür wiederum ein Antrag nötig war, verzögerte sich der Prozess etwas. Die Firma, bei der er sich beworben hatte, war glücklicherweise bereit zu warten. Nach insgesamt drei Monaten war es dann soweit und Fernando Llusiá de Castro erhielt im Mai 2015 die volle Gleichwertigkeit seines Ingenieurdiploms.

„Das legte ich dann der Firma Bau und Haustechnik Bad Düben vor und bekam den Job. Einfacher konnte es nicht sein!“ Der Spanier ist begeistert, weil seine Hoffnung, so schnell wie möglich eine Arbeit zu finden, in Erfüllung gegangen ist. Er findet, dass dies in einem fremden Land nicht selbstverständlich ist, vor allem wenn man, wie er, vorher noch keine Berufserfahrung sammeln konnte. Umso zufriedener ist er, dass ihm die Arbeit selbst auch noch großen Spaß macht: „Ich habe ein eigenes Büro im Hauptgebäude der Firma, unter den Kollegen herrscht eine gute Atmosphäre und ich hoffe, weiter an den verschiedensten Projekten arbeiten zu können, um noch mehr Berufserfahrung zu sammeln.“

Auch privat herrscht bei Fernando Llusiá de Castro keine Langeweile. Er spielt Squash im Verein und hat dadurch schon viele neue Freunde kennengelernt. Einziger Wermutstropfen: Seine Familie ist noch in Spanien. Daher nutzt er seinen Urlaub, um in die alte Heimat zu fliegen.

Das Gespräch mit Fernando Llusiá de Castro wurde im Dezember 2015 geführt. Bei der Anerkennung seines Abschlusses beriet und begleitete ihn die „Berufliche Anerkennungs- und Qualifizierungsberatung“ Sachsen-Anhalt Süd.