Alaa Kheralah - Recognition as dental technician

A young man in a dentistry workshop smiles into the camera
Alaa Kheralah

I am extremely happy in my job


When I came to Germany, it was important to me to stand on my own two feet as quickly as possible.


Alaa Kheralah arrived in Germany as a refugee from Syria in October 2014. He received recognition for his dental technician training completed in Jordan as early as January 2015.


Name Alaa Kheralah
Age 33
Reference occupation Dental technician
Country of origin of qualification Jordan
Current job Dental technician

 

What recognition means for me ...

… an important step towards a better future.


My advice

Take a language course immediately in order to learn German. And never lose your motivation, even if things get difficult sometimes!


Dental technician Alaa Kheralah, who is now aged 33, took the decision to leave his homeland of Syria together with his family because of the difficult living conditions in the country. Because his father had studied in Kiel and his brother works as a dentist in Mannheim, Germany was an obvious destination. Prior to Alaa’s arrival, his brother made enquiries to the chamber of crafts and trade regarding opportunities for recognition as a dental technician.

When Alaa arrived in Germany in the autumn of 2014, he immediately contacted the chamber of crafts and trades in Mannheim to initiate his professional recognition procedure. The chamber notified him which documentation he was required to submit. Despite the fact that he spoke not a single word of German when he came to the country, Alaa used the intervening period to undertake a practical placement in a dental laboratory. "My colleagues at the lab made things very easy for me and were extraordinarily friendly and helpful from the outset." Whilst continuing with the practical placement, he also began a language course.

As the recognition procedure went on, it quickly emerged that Alaa Kheralah would need to complete a skills analysis in order to demonstrate the equivalence of his qualification. Important information on the precise contents of his training in Jordan was missing from his paperwork.

The date set for the skills analysis was January 2015. The fact that his German was not good enough at the time did not create a barrier in his case. "The laboratory gave me special permission to complete the analysis in English. That helped me a lot." This was made possible because he has very little customer contact in his profession, which also uses well-known international terminology. The chamber of crafts and trades also recognised just how quickly his knowledge of German had already improved. Another special circumstance was that the skills analysis for dental technicians was designed with him in mind, because Alaa Kheralah was the first person in Germany to undergo such an analysis. Practical tests involving the performance of all the essential activities of a dental technician continued for five days, and Alaa produced exemplary results. The tasks developed will now serve as a reference for future skills analyses.

Once Alaa had been accorded full equivalence of his professional qualification by the chamber of crafts and trades, a number of job offers immediately followed. He was, however, not permitted to enter work at once due to the fact that his asylum application had taken longer than his professional recognition procedure. This created a real challenge for Alaa Kheralah: "It was difficult to stay patient until I finally received a work permit six months later. But I waited, and now everything is fine." The successful completion of his asylum application meant that his wife and four-year old son were able to join him in Germany. Since this time, Alaa Kheralah has been working as a dental technician at the Lusanum Dental Laboratory in Ludwigshafen. "I am extremely happy in my job and am glad that my family is now here too."

The interview with Alaa Kheralah was conducted in November 2015. He was advised and supported in the recognition of his qualification by the Mannheim Rhein-Neckar-Odenwald Chamber of Crafts and Trades.

Alaa Kheralah - Anerkennung als Zahntechniker

Alaa Kheralah - Anerkennung als Zahntechniker

junger Mann in einer Zahntechnik-Werkstatt lächelt in die Kamera
Alaa Kheralah

Ich fühle mich extrem wohl in meinem Job.


Mir war es wichtig, in Deutschland so schnell wie möglich auf eigenen Füßen zu stehen.


Alaa Kheralah kam im Oktober 2014 als Flüchtling aus Syrien nach Deutschland. Bereits im Januar 2015 erhielt er die Anerkennung seiner in Jordanien absolvierten Zahntechniker-Ausbildung.


Name Alaa Kheralah
Alter 33
Referenzberuf Zahntechniker
Herkunftsland Abschluss Jordanien
Tätig als Zahntechniker

 

Anerkennung bedeutet für mich ...

… einen wichtigen Schritt in eine bessere Zukunft.


Mein Tipp

Sofort einen Sprachkurs machen, um Deutsch zu lernen. Und nie die Motivation verlieren, auch wenn es manchmal schwierig ist!


Aufgrund der schwierigen Lebensumstände in seiner Heimat Syrien entschied sich Alaa Kheralah, das Land mit seiner Familie zu verlassen. Da sein Vater in Kiel studiert hatte und sein Bruder als Zahnarzt in Mannheim arbeitet, war das Zielland für den Zahntechniker schnell klar. Sein Bruder war es auch, der bereits vor seiner Ankunft bei der Handwerkskammer nach Möglichkeiten für eine Anerkennung als Zahntechniker gefragt hatte.

Als der heute 33-Jährige im Herbst 2014 in Deutschland ankam, kontaktierte er umgehend die Handwerkskammer in Mannheim, um sein Berufsanerkennungsverfahren in die Wege zu leiten. Sie teilte ihm mit, welche Unterlagen er einzureichen hatte. Die Zwischenzeit nutzte er für ein Praktikum in einem Zahntechniklabor – und das, obwohl er bei seiner Ankunft kein einziges Wort Deutsch konnte. „Meine Kollegen im Labor haben es mir sehr leicht gemacht und waren vom ersten Tag an außerordentlich nett und hilfsbereit.“ Parallel zum Praktikum begann er mit einem Sprachkurs.

Im Zuge des Anerkennungsverfahrens stellte sich schnell heraus, dass Alaa Kheralah eine Qualifikationsanalyse absolvieren musste, um die Gleichwertigkeit seines Berufsabschlusses nachzuweisen. Denn in seinen Unterlagen fehlten wichtige Informationen zu den genauen Inhalten seiner Ausbildung in Jordanien.

Der Termin für die Qualifikationsanalyse war für Januar 2015 angesetzt. Dass sein Deutsch zu dieser Zeit noch nicht gut genug war, stellte in seinem Fall keine Hürde dar. „Das Labor hat mir ausnahmsweise erlaubt, die Analyse in Englisch abzulegen. Das hat mir sehr geholfen“, berichtet der Syrer. Möglich war dies nicht nur, weil er in seinem Beruf kaum Kundenkontakt hat und es international bekannte Fachbegriffe gibt, sondern auch, weil die Handwerkskammer erkannte, wie rasch sich seine Deutschkenntnisse bereits verbessert hatten. Eine weitere Besonderheit bestand darin, dass die Qualifikationsanalyse für Zahntechniker erst mit ihm entstanden ist. Kheralah war deutschlandweit der erste, der sie absolvierte. Fünf Tage dauerte das Probearbeiten, bei dem er alle wesentlichen Tätigkeiten eines Zahntechnikers ausführte – mit mustergültigen Ergebnissen! Die für Alaa Kheralah entwickelten Aufgaben im Zuge der Probearbeit dienen nun als Referenz für zukünftige Qualifikationsanalysen.

Als ihm daraufhin die volle Gleichwertigkeit seines Berufsabschlusses von der Handwerkskammer bescheinigt wurde, erhielt er gleich einige Stellenangebote. Da sein Asylanerkennungsverfahren jedoch mehr Zeit in Anspruch nahm als sein Berufsanerkennungsverfahren, durfte er noch nicht sofort arbeiten. Hierin lag die eigentliche Herausforderung für Alaa Kheralah: „Es war schwer, die Geduld zu bewahren, bis ich nach sechs Monaten endlich die Arbeitserlaubnis erhielt. Aber ich habe gewartet, und jetzt ist alles gut.“ Nach dem erfolgreichen Asylverfahren konnten seine Frau und sein vierjähriger Sohn nach Deutschland nachkommen. Alaa Kheralah arbeitet seitdem als Zahntechniker im Lusanum Zahntechniker Labor in Ludwigshafen. „Ich fühle mich extrem wohl in meinem Job und bin froh, dass meine Familie auch hier ist.“

Das Gespräch mit Alaa Kheralah wurde im November 2015 geführt. Bei der Anerkennung seines Abschlusses beriet und begleitete ihn von Anfang bis Ende die Handwerkskammer Mannheim Rhein-Neckar-Odenwald.