Nelson Safaissou - Recognition as doctor of medicine

Nelson Safaissou - Recognition as doctor of medicine

der Porträtierte im weißen Kittel vor medizinischen Geräten
Nelson Safaissou

I've achieved my first goal!


Thanks to recognition as a doctor, I can now continue with my training and am excited to see what happens next!


Nelson Safaissou, born in Cameroon, received approbation as a doctor back in October 2013. Today he is working in the gynaecology department at a hospital in Leisnig, Saxony.


Name Nelson Safaissou
Age 32
Reference profession Doctor of Medicine (Approbation)
Country of origin of certificate Madagascar
Working as Doctor in training (as gynaecology and obstetrics Consultant)

 

What recognition means for me …

… the chance to establish myself in Germany and to be able to continue my training as far as I need.


My advice

Do not give up! You must have patience and you must be well-prepared. However, the language is the most important thing.


Finding his way in a new country was nothing new to Nelson Safaissou. The 32 year old, originally from Cameroon, completed his medical university course in Antananarivo, the capital of Madagascar. “After qualifying, I wanted to specialise by training as a consultant. I was keen to move to Europe for this because Madagascar sometimes does not have the material and equipment needed”, explained Nelson Safaissou.

He met his wife in Madagascar. She comes from Germany, or more specifically, from Saxony. “We first considered going to France because my wife also speaks French fluently.” Changes in the German recognition law meant that they opted in favour of Germany. “Compared to France, it seemed easier here to gain approbation, despite the language barrier."

For Nelson Safaissou, the route to recognition in Germany started on the internet. “I also used the Recognition Finder and this provided me with a lot of important information about the occupation profile and the relevant authorities”, commented the native-born Cameroonian. However, the actual recognition procedure was a major challenge, and, above all, the language: “I studied German only for over a year. This is because you need to have language level B2 to be able to apply for approbation. Today, I have already reached level C1 - so the hard work has paid off!”.

The second hurdle was the work permit as a doctor. This is because, in order to receive approbation, the applicant must be able to show that he or she has a guarantee of employment in Saxony. The particular office of the regional council in which the future employer is located is, in line with this, actually responsible for approbation. “However, without approbation, I was not able to find a job - a classic dilemma. That was a really difficult situation!", the doctor recalled. “Towards the end I actually considered applying for jobs as a nurse..."

However Nelson Safaissou did not give up. He eventually found out, from a friend of his wife, about the IBAS counselling centre in Dresden which was part of the “Integration through training” - IQ network in Saxony. Here he received the tip of simply applying for approbation from the Dresden regional council. “On the grounds that I live permanently in Saxony and had already sent off over 100 applications which were rejected due to not having approbation, I had an appointment arranged around four weeks after submission to the regional council.” A week after this important appointment, he had the approbation in his hands. The regional council made an exception with respect to the guarantee of employment, because Mr Safaissou was able to demonstrate that he had his roots in Saxony and intended to start work there.

Today, the 32 year old is very satisfied. “Once the approbation was granted, I applied to various hospitals in Saxony and, in the end, the Helios hospital in Leisnig offered me a visiting physician programme and I was subsequently appointed. My wife and I have now started a family. And I also really enjoy my work.” A few months ago, Nelson Safaissou was able to move from vascular surgery to gynaecology in order to continue training in this area as a consultant. “I wanted to do that from the start. I have therefore achieved my first goal - I am now curious to see what happens next!”

The interview with Nelson Safaissou was conducted in March 2015.

Nelson Safaissou - Anerkennung als Arzt

der Porträtierte im weißen Kittel vor medizinischen Geräten
Nelson Safaissou

Mein erstes Ziel habe ich erreicht!


Dank der Anerkennung als Arzt kann ich mich jetzt fortbilden. Ich bin gespannt, wie es weitergeht!


Bereits im Oktober 2013 erhielt der gebürtige Kameruner Nelson Safaissou die Approbation als Arzt. Heute arbeitet er in der gynäkologischen Abteilung einer Klinik im sächsischen Leisnig.


Name Nelson Safaissou
Alter 32
Referenzberuf Arzt (Approbation)
Herkunftsland Abschluss Madagaskar
Tätig als Arzt in Weiterbildung (zum Facharzt für Gynäkologie und Geburtshilfe)

 

Anerkennung bedeutet für mich …

… die Chance, in Deutschland beruflich Fuß zu fassen und mich ausreichend weiterbilden zu können.


Mein Tipp

Nicht aufgeben! Man muss Geduld haben und gut vorbereitet sein. Am wichtigsten ist aber die Sprache.


Sich in einem neuen Land zurechtzufinden war für Nelson Safaissou nichts Neues. Denn der aus Kamerun stammende 32-Jährige absolvierte sein Medizinstudium in Madagaskars Hauptstadt Antananarivo. „Nach dem Abschluss wollte ich mich spezialisieren, durch eine Weiterbildung zum Facharzt. Dafür wollte ich gern nach Europa, denn in Madagaskar fehlt es teilweise an Material und Geräten“, erklärt Nelson Safaissou.

In Madagaskar hat er seine Frau kennengelernt - die aus Deutschland, genauer gesagt aus Sachsen, stammt. „Zuerst haben wir überlegt nach Frankreich zu gehen, denn auch meine Frau spricht fließend Französisch.“ Die Änderungen im deutschen Anerkennungsgesetz sorgten aber dafür, dass die Entscheidung zu Gunsten Deutschlands ausfiel. „Im Vergleich zu Frankreich schien es hier leichter, die Approbation zu erhalten – trotz Sprachbarriere.”

Der Weg zur Anerkennung in Deutschland begann für Nelson Safaissou im Internet. „Auch den Anerkennungs-Finder habe ich genutzt und dadurch viele wichtige Informationen zum Berufsprofil und zur zuständigen Behörde bekommen“, berichtet der gebürtige Kameruner. Das tatsächliche Anerkennungsverfahren war jedoch eine große Herausforderung, vor allem die Sprache: „Über ein Jahr habe ich nur Deutsch gelernt. Denn man muss das Sprachlevel B2 vorweisen, um die Approbation beantragen zu können. Heute bin ich bereits bei Level C1 - das Pauken hat sich also gelohnt!“

Die zweite Hürde war die Arbeitserlaubnis als Mediziner. Denn um die Approbation zu bekommen, muss der Anwärter in Sachsen eine Einstellungszusage nachweisen können. Zuständig für die Approbation ist diejenige Dienststelle der Landesdirektion, in deren Einzugsbereich sich der zukünftige Arbeitgeber befindet. „Allerdings habe ich ohne Approbation keine Arbeitsstelle finden können, ein klassisches Dilemma. Das war wirklich eine schwierige Situation!”, erinnert sich der Mediziner. „Gegen Ende habe ich tatsächlich überlegt, mich als Krankenpfleger zu bewerben …“

Doch Nelson Safaissou gab nicht auf. Durch einen Bekannten seiner Frau erfuhr er schließlich von der IBAS-Beratungsstelle Dresden, die zum Netzwerk Integration durch Qualifizierung (IQ) in Sachsen gehört. Dort erhielt er den Tipp, die Approbation einfach bei der Landesdirektion Dresden zu beantragen. „Mit der Begründung, dass ich dauerhaft in Sachsen wohne und schon über 100 Bewerbungen verschickt hatte, die wegen fehlender Approbation abgelehnt wurden, habe ich ungefähr vier Wochen nach Einreichung bei der Landesdirektion einen Termin vereinbart.“ Nach diesem entscheidenden Termin hielt er schon eine Woche später die Approbation in den Händen. Die Landesdirektion hatte bezüglich der Einstellungszusage eine Ausnahme gemacht, da Herr Safaissou nachweisen konnte, dass er in Sachsen verwurzelt ist und dort eine Arbeit aufnehmen will und wird.

Heute ist der 32-Jährige sehr zufrieden darüber, wie sich sein Leben entwickelt hat. „Ich habe mich nach Erteilung der Approbation bei verschiedenen Kliniken in Sachsen weiter beworben und die Helios-Klinik in Leisnig hat mir schließlich eine Hospitation angeboten und mich daraufhin eingestellt. Meine Frau und ich haben mittlerweile Nachwuchs. Und auch meine Arbeit macht mir viel Freude.“ Vor einigen Monaten konnte Nelson Safaissou von der Gefäßchirurgie zur Gynäkologie wechseln, um sich in diesem Gebiet als Facharzt weiterzubilden. „Das wollte ich von Anfang an machen. Das erste Ziel ist also erfüllt - jetzt lasse ich mich überraschen, wie es weitergeht!“

Das Gespräch mit Nelson Safaissou wurde im März 2015 geführt.