Esther Wamala - Recognition as nurse

Esther Wamala - Recognition as nurse

Nurse in sick room smiling into camera
Esther Wamala-Bollig

For me, nursing is more than a profession.


Recognition has enabled me to have a fulfilling professional life again.


Esther Wamala-Bollig moved to Germany with her husband in 2011. Trained in Jinja, Uganda as a nurse and midwife, she received full recognition as a registered general nurse after one and a half years.


Name Esther Wamala-Bollig
Age 30
Reference profession Registered general nurse
Country of origin of certificate Uganda
Working as  Registered general nurse in Berlin

 

What recognition means for me …

... great joy and more occupational security.


My advice

You don't have to do everything alone. There are many institutions that can help during the recognition process.


"When I came here I did not know that I was not allowed to work as a nurse or midwife", says Esther Wamala-Bollig, who moved to Germany from Uganda with her family in 2011. "After all, I had a work permit and had already learned some German at the Goethe Centre in Uganda." When she applied for work as a nurse parallel to her integration course she received only refusals. The only offer for the then 27-year-old was a six-month full-time internship in a parent-child ward. "Although I could only do simple tasks there, I thought, I would at least get to know the German health system," Esther Wamala-Bollig recalls.

In intensive consultation sessions with the Berlin association "Miteinander Weltweit" (Together Worldwide) and the "IQ Network" she learned of the possibility of recognition of her professional qualifications. While still doing internship she submitted her documents to the Berlin State Department of Health and Social Affairs (LAGeSo). However, without the B2 certificate required under the European Framework of Reference for Languages, the Ugandan woman's documents were initially not accepted - even though she had completed the integration course with top marks at the B1 level in December 2012, showing that she could already communicate well in German.

Esther Wamala-Bollig therefore took a language course at the Goethe Institute in Berlin. "After an internal test, I was issued a preliminary notification that I had passed the B2 exam, which I then sent to LAGeSo."

And finally, the last hurdle before recognition was submitting the "Code of Conduct", a kind of international certificate of good conduct, which she had issued by Interpol at the request of LAGeSo. "Getting the document was a real challenge, since the Federal Criminal Police Office (BKA) in Germany said it had no jurisdiction. Also, the police stations were not willing to take my fingerprints, because there were no allegations against me. But then a nice policeman was kind enough to help me take Fingerprints which I then sent to the authorities in Kampala. I had to collect the document from Interpol in Uganda in person, however."

In 2011, when Esther Wamala-Bollig came to Germany, the Recognition Act did not yet exist. Since its entry into force in April 2012, it has been possible to submit an application for recognition from abroad. That might have spared her a lot of trouble. Once Esther Wamala-Bollig had submitted all the documentation, however, the further processing did not take long. After a personal meeting, on account of her good work references and language skills as well as all of the other available documents, LAGeSo made an exception and already verified the equivalence of her training in advance. In May 2013, Esther Wamala-Bollig received the certificate of recognition after submitting the Interpol certificate and the B2 language certificate.

She has been continuously employed as a registered general nurse since July 2013 and now has a permanent contract. She was naturalised in December 2014, after only three years of residence.

"I was sometimes frustrated during the recognition process, but I am very glad I never gave up. I am not only better paid today but I also get a lot of respect from my colleagues."

The interview with Esther Wamala-Bollig was conducted in December 2014.

Esther Wamala - Anerkennung als Gesundheits- und Krankenpflegerin

Esther Wamala - Anerkennung als Gesundheits- und Krankenpflegerin

testimonial_2015_wamala_715
Esther Wamala-Bollig

Für mich ist Krankenschwester mehr als ein Beruf.


Die Anerkennung hat mir wieder ein erfülltes Berufsleben ermöglicht.


Esther Wamala-Bollig zog 2011 mit ihrem Mann nach Deutschland. Nach 1,5 Jahren erhielt die in Jinja, Uganda, ausgebildete Krankenschwester und Hebamme die volle Anerkennung als Gesundheits- und Krankenpflegerin.


Name Esther Wamala-Bollig
Alter 30
Referenzberuf Gesundheits- und Krankenpflegerin
Herkunftsland Abschluss Uganda
Tätig als Gesundheits- und Krankenpflegerin in Berlin

 

Anerkennung bedeutet für mich …

... große Freude und mehr berufliche Sicherheit.


Mein Tipp

Man muss nicht alles alleine machen. Es gibt viele Institutionen, die während des Anerkennungsprozesses weiterhelfen können.


„Als ich hierhergekommen bin, wusste ich gar nicht, dass ich nicht als Gesundheits- und Krankenpflegerin oder Hebamme arbeiten darf“, erzählt Esther Wamala-Bollig, die 2011 von Uganda mit ihrer Familie nach Deutschland zog. „Schließlich hatte ich eine Arbeitserlaubnis und am Goethezentrum in Uganda schon etwas Deutsch gelernt.“ Als sie sich – parallel zu ihrem Integrationskurs – als Krankenpflegerin bewarb, erhielt sie nur Absagen. Das einzige Angebot für die damals 27-Jährige war ein sechsmonatiges Vollzeit-Praktikum auf einer Mutter-Kind-Station. „Dort durfte ich zwar nur einfache Aufgaben erledigen, aber ich dachte, so lerne ich wenigstens das deutsche Gesundheitswesen kennen“, erinnert sich Esther Wamala-Bollig.

Bei intensiven Beratungsgesprächen beim Berliner Verein „Miteinander Weltweit“ und dem „IQ-Netzwerk“ erfährt sie von der Möglichkeit der Anerkennung ihres Berufsabschlusses. Bereits während des Praktikums reicht sie ihre Dokumente beim Landesamt für Gesundheit und Soziales Berlin (LAGeSo) ein. Doch ohne das B2-Zertifikat nach dem europäischen Referenzrahmen für Sprachen wurden die Unterlagen  der Uganderin zunächst nicht angenommen - obwohl sie im Dezember 2012 den Integrationskurs mit Bestnote auf dem Niveau B1 abgeschlossen hatte und damit zeigte, dass sie sich bereits gut in Deutsch verständigen konnte.

Esther Wamala-Bollig belegte deshalb einen Sprachkurs am Goethe-Institut Berlin. „Nach einem internen Test wurde mir gleich ein Vorab-Bescheid über das Bestehen der B2-Prüfung ausgestellt, den ich dann zum LAGeSo geschickt habe.“

Die letzte Hürde zur Anerkennung war schließlich noch die Einreichung des „Code of Conduct“, eine Art internationales Führungszeugnis, das sie sich auf Wunsch des LAGeSo von Interpol ausstellen lassen sollte. „Das Dokument zu bekommen, war eine echte Herausforderung, da sich das Bundeskriminalamt (BKA) in Deutschland als nicht zuständig erklärte. Auch wollten die Polizeidienststellen keine Fingerabdrücke abnehmen, weil nichts gegen mich vorlag. Ein freundlicher Polizeibeamter hat mir dann doch geholfen, Fingerabdrücke zu erstellen, die ich dann zu den  Behörden nach Kampala schickte. Das Dokument musste ich allerdings persönlich bei Interpol in Uganda abholen.“

Als Esther Wamala-Bollig im Jahr 2011 nach Deutschland kam, gab es das Anerkennungsgesetz noch nicht. Seit dessen Inkrafttreten im April 2012 ist es  möglich, den Antrag auf Anerkennung vom Ausland aus zu stellen. Das hätte ihr möglicherweise einigen Aufwand erspart. Nachdem Esther Wamala-Bollig jedoch alle Unterlagen vollständig eingereicht hatte, ging die weitere Bearbeitung sehr schnell. Nach einem persönlichen Gespräch hatte das LAGeSo auf Grund ihrer guten Arbeitszeugnisse und Sprachkenntnisse sowie all der anderen vorliegenden Unterlagen die Gleichwertigkeit ihrer Ausbildung ausnahmsweise schon vorab geprüft. Im Mai 2013 erhielt Esther Wamala-Bollig den  Anerkennungsbescheid nach Vorlage des Interpol- und des B2-Sprachzeugnisses.

Seit Juli 2013 ist sie ununterbrochen als Gesundheits- und Krankenpflegerin  beschäftigt und hat heute einen unbefristeten Arbeitsvertrag. Im Dezember 2014 wurde sie – nach nur dreijährigem Aufenthalt  – eingebürgert. „Während des Anerkennungsprozesses war ich manchmal frustriert. Ich bin aber sehr froh, dass ich nicht aufgegeben habe. Heute werde ich nicht nur besser bezahlt, sondern bekomme auch sehr viel Respekt von meinen Kollegen.“

Das Gespräch mit Esther Wamala-Bollig wurde im Dezember 2014 geführt.