Keivan Daneshvar - Recognition as doctor of medicine

testimonial_2015_daneshvar_715
Keivan Daneshvar

I now am a senior physician instead of a visiting physician.


The new law brought with it entirely new opportunities.


The 2012 law for recognising foreign occupational qualifications was the proverbial lifesaver for the Iranian physician Keivan Daneshvar after a five-year struggle of navigating the jungle of bureaucracy in Germany. The law finally provided the legal basis for third country nationals to obtain approbation as a doctor of medicine.


Name Dr. med. Keivan Daneshvar
Age 42
Reference occupation Doctor of Medicine (Approbation)
Country of origin in which qualification was acquired Iran
Current job Senior physician at the radiology department of the Sankt Katharinen-Krankenhaus hospital in Frankfurt am Main

 

Recognition means to me ...

… Everything. A perspective, the planning of my life. This would not be possible without recognition.


My advice

The best thing is to talk to the IQ network advisors and ask them for support. It is a very difficult process when attempted alone and one loses a lot of time. The IQ-Netzwerk Baden-Württemberg has helped me a lot.

Keivan Daneshvar did not have an easy start in Germany. He had to fight many years for his right to live and work here. The formal recognition as a doctor of medicine (approbation) was one of the biggest obstacles in this process. As early as in 2006, the Iranian was unable to accept a job offer because he lacked both the licence to practise in his profession and the residence permit.

Following a six-month advanced training course in the field of radiology in Switzerland, Keivan Daneshvar first worked for two years as a visiting physician at the Heidelberg University Hospital. "There were many bureaucratic problems. For example, as a visiting physician the residence permit was granted only for half a year at a time", he says, looking back. Every time he wanted to rotate within the university hospital or change his place of employment, the licence to practise in his occupation had to be newly applied for. "I had to inform the prospective new employers that the process prior to taking up the job is likely to take three to four months, but even so I could not provide an exact date when I would receive the licence to practise, so many obviously withdrew their job offers."

But Keivan Daneshvar did not give up. He urgently wanted to work in Germany in the long term and receive in-depth training as a medical specialist. "They use high-class devices in the field of radiology here. Also, I had read many German publications and knew that research is held in high regard in Germany; that piqued my interest. Moreover, the location in Central Europe is good and I had already made many acquaintances here, so everything matched. Essentially ..."

He changed jobs to work at the German Cancer Research Center in Heidelberg in 2009, yet required a new licence to practise to do so. "The Landesprüfungsamt (Federal State Examination Office) in Stuttgart granted me the temporary licence to practise in my profession. I had to sign an agreement to sit the theory examination for physicians. At the time it was the rule that one was automatically issued an appointment to take the exam after six months", Keivan Daneshvar remembers. Following the examination in March 2010 he then had it in writing: his Iranian degree is equivalent to the German medical university course.

Even so, he still felt a little like a "second class" physician, because under the legal provisions effective at the time he as a third country national was barred from being granted approbation – the formal state-issued occupational licence for doctors of medicine. It was only after receiving information from the IQ advisory office in Mannheim regarding the options under the new Recognition Act that had become effective in spring 2012 that Keivan Daneshvar filed a renewed application; he eventually received approbation  in April 2012. As he had previously passed the theory examination, he did not have to sit any additional examinations.

"At last I can work as a physician in Germany in a regular manner. In spite of all the difficulties, I have made it from visiting physician to senior physician within seven years. In the meantime I have retaken a doctoral degree, because my doctoral title had not been recognised either. Now I hold a title as a medical specialist and work as a senior physician in radiology. I would not have achieved all this without the recognition."

The interview with Keivan Daneshvar was conducted in November 2014.

Keivan Daneshvar - Anerkennung als Arzt

Porträtierter Mann in Arztkittel lächelt in die Kamera
Keivan Daneshvar

Jetzt bin ich Oberarzt statt Gastarzt.


Mit dem neuen Gesetz kamen völlig neue Perspektiven.


Nach fünf Jahren Bürokratie-Dschungel in Deutschland kam für den iranischen Arzt Keivan Daneshvar 2012 die Rettung – in Form des Anerkennungsgesetzes. Das Gesetz brachte endlich die rechtliche Möglichkeit für Drittstaatsangehörige, die Approbation als Arzt zu bekommen.


Name Dr. med. Keivan Daneshvar
Alter 42
Referenzberuf Arzt (Approbation)
Herkunftsland Abschluss Iran
Tätig als Oberarzt der Abteilung für Radiologie im Sankt Katharinen-Krankenhaus in Frankfurt a.M.

 

Anerkennung bedeutet für mich …

… alles. Perspektive, die Planung meines Lebens. Ohne Anerkennung ginge es nicht.


Mein Tipp

Am besten sollte man mit den Beratungsfachkräften des IQ-Netzwerkes Rücksprache halten und dort nach Unterstützung fragen. Ganz alleine ist es schwierig, und man verliert viel Zeit. Das IQ-Netzwerk Baden-Württemberg hat mir sehr weitergeholfen.

Keivan Daneshvar hatte keinen leichten Start in Deutschland. Jahrelang musste er dafür kämpfen, hier wohnen und arbeiten zu dürfen. Die offizielle Anerkennung als Arzt (Approbation) war eine der größten Hürden dabei. Bereits 2006 hatte der Iraner ein Stellenangebot nicht annehmen können, weil ihm die Berufserlaubnis sowie die Aufenthaltsgenehmigung fehlten.

Nach einer sechsmonatigen Weiterbildung im Bereich Radiologie in der Schweiz arbeitete Keivan Daneshvar zunächst über zwei Jahre als Gastarzt im Universitätsklinikum Heidelberg. „Es gab viele bürokratische Probleme. Als Gastarzt habe ich zum Beispiel die Aufenthaltserlaubnis immer nur für ein halbes Jahr bekommen“, erinnert er sich. Jedes Mal wenn er innerhalb des Uniklinikums rotieren oder die Arbeitsstätte wechseln wollte, musste die Berufserlaubnis neu beantragt werden: „Den möglichen  neuen Arbeitgebern musste ich mitteilen, dass das Prozedere bis zum Stellenantritt voraussichtlich drei bis vier Monate dauert, konnte aber trotzdem kein genaues Datum angeben, wann ich die Berufserlaubnis erhalten würde – da haben einige natürlich abgesagt.“

Aber Keivan Daneshvar gab nicht auf. Er wollte unbedingt längerfristig in Deutschland arbeiten und eine fundierte Ausbildung als Facharzt bekommen.  „Hier werden in der Radiologie hochwertige Geräte verwendet. Ich hatte zudem viele deutsche Publikationen gelesen und wusste, dass in Deutschland die Forschung einen hohen Stellenwert hat, das reizte mich. Außerdem ist die Lage in der Mitte Europas gut, und ich hatte schon viele Bekannte hier – es passte also alles. Eigentlich…“

2009 wechselte er ans Deutsche Krebsforschungszentrum in Heidelberg, wofür er allerdings erneut eine Berufserlaubnis benötigte. „Das Landesprüfungsamt in Stuttgart erteilte mir die zeitlich befristete Berufserlaubnis. Dabei musste ich unterschreiben, die Kenntnisprüfung für Ärzte abzulegen. Damals war es so, dass man automatisch einen Termin bekam, um nach sechs Monaten an der Prüfung teilzunehmen“, erinnert sich Keivan Daneshvar. Nach der Prüfung im März 2010 hatte er es bereits Schwarz auf Weiß: Sein iranischer Abschluss ist gleichwertig mit dem deutschen Medizinstudium.

Trotzdem fühlte er sich noch ein wenig wie ein Arzt „zweiter Klasse“, da er nach den damaligen gesetzlichen Bestimmungen als Drittstaatler keine Approbation erhalten konnte – die offizielle staatliche Berufszulassung für Ärzte. Erst nach Informationen der IQ-Beratungsstelle in Mannheim über die Möglichkeiten des im Frühjahr 2012 in Kraft getretenen  Anerkennungsgesetzes stellte er erneut den Antrag und erhielt die Approbation schließlich im April 2012. Eine zusätzliche Prüfung musste er dafür nicht ablegen, da er ja bereits die Kenntnisprüfung bestanden hatte.

„Ich kann jetzt endlich in Deutschland ganz normal als Arzt arbeiten. Trotz aller Widrigkeiten habe ich es innerhalb von sieben Jahren vom Gastarzt zum Oberarzt geschafft. Zwischenzeitlich habe ich erneut promoviert, weil übrigens auch mein Doktortitel nicht anerkannt wurde. Nun habe ich einen Facharzttitel und arbeite als Oberarzt in der Radiologie. Ohne die Anerkennung hätte ich das nicht geschafft.“

Das Gespräch mit Dr. med. Keivan Daneshvar wurde im November 2014 geführt.